Skip to content

Books: What I read, what I didn’t, and what I loved

January 12, 2013

What I Read (and didn’t read) in 2012

Below is the list of books I wanted to read in 2012. I didn’t get through as many as I had hoped since I couldn’t get them through the library. But now that I received a few for Christmas (yes!), I’ll be able to read many of them in early 2013.

Parenting

Loving the Little Years: Motherhood in the Trenches – Rachel Jankovic

Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus – Elyse M. Fitzpatrick

Grace-Based Parenting – Tim Kimmel

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk – Adele FaberElaine Mazlish

Playful Parenting– Lawrence J. Cohen

ScreamFree Parenting – Hal Edward Runkel

How to Really Parent Your Child: Anticipating What a Child Needs Instead of Reacting to What a Child Does – Ross Campbell

Jesus and The Church

Adopted for Life: The Priority of Adoption for Christian Families & Churches – Russell D. Moore

Fields of the Fatherless: Discover the Joy of Compassionate Living – Tom Davis

When Helping Hurts – Steve CorbettBrian Fikkert 

Follow Me to Freedom: Leading and Following As an Ordinary Radical – Shane ClaiborneJohn Perkins

The Ragamuffin Gospel – Brennan Manning I never finished this, but I LOVED it. I have to start over to soak it all in again. 

Christianity Beyond Belief: Following Jesus for the Sake of Others – Todd D. Hunter

A Faith of Our Own: Following Jesus Beyond the Culture Wars – Jonathan Merritt

Nutrition

Disease-Proof Your Child: Feeding Kids Right – Joel Fuhrman

Inspiration

Firstlight: The Early Inspirational Writings of Sue Monk Kidd – Sue Monk Kidd

One Thousand Gifts – Ann Voskamp

The Wounded Healer –  Henri J. M. Nouwen

Creation Care

Tending to Eden: Environmental Stewardship for God’s People – Scott C. Sabin

Fiction

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

 

Favorites of 2012

I hate picking favorites, so it was tough to narrow it down to this list. Certainly I’ve missed something; so, as always, you’re invited to checkout my Shelfari page for more books and summaries of the ones listed below.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

