Skip to content

Project Simplify: Kitchen Results

March 16, 2012

Let me begin by saying that this week’s project was a lot less time-consuming, but also a lot less results-producing. The project was specifically for the cupboards and fridge, which is great, but my real kitchen problems have more to do with dishes, clean counter/workspace, and… dishes.

However, I was not able to tackle those problem areas this week. Maybe someday…

BEFORE: This is our one and only food cupboard. Our diet has changed quite a bit in the last few years, and I’ve found that it is our fridge that overflows with food, not our cupboards. Even in the last few months, I’ve noticed a decrease in how much grain, pasta, and flour we store here. It makes keeping it tidy even easier.

I just reorganized these shelves about a month ago, so it was mostly cleaned of old food and so forth. Nonetheless, it needed some straightening and labeling.

AFTER: I love storing grains and beans in glass jars. Leftover salsa jars fit perfectly with that kitchen shelf on the bottom right. I also recently moved some of our spices down there. (Not sure what I’m doing with all those darn things yet. Another project, another day…)

Flour and oats go in old ice cream tubs (something my mom always did). They are perfect for refilling at our co-op’s bulk bins, too.

I added a sheet of paper inside the door to jot down any items we need to refill. It’s not the same as my grocery list, with is more urgent in nature. This is more like, “Hey, you’re out of chick peas and basmati rice; however, you can survive the week without them. Just wanted you to know.”

 

BEFORE: We’re missing a shelf in the fridge, making food storage a little more complicated. In addition, we share the fridge with Becky, who graciously manages to limit her space to about 3% of the fridge. That’s her 1/2 gallon of milk and Hellman’s, and the “meats” drawer is where she keeps everything else.

The most important things I can do to keep it neat is 1) wash and bag/box the green foods we have, and 2) transfer leftovers to appropriately-sized containers (e.g. NOT the stock pot).

BONUS: See that lowest shelf on the fridge door? I just discovered that a couple weeks ago. Lifesaver.

 

AFTER: The fridge cleaned itself this week as we ate leftovers and I washed greens. However, I did try to be more aware using appropriately-sized containers for food storage. Two soup containers were merged into one this morning. It’s another dish to wash, but it had to be washed eventually anyway.

(Skipped the freezer today. It’s not too bad, and I’d like to work with Becky to improve how we share the space.)

So there you have it: my boring kitchen results.

What do you love about your kitchen (my white cabinets and butcher block counters)? What do you have hard time loving (the lack of dishwasher)? Where do you find the most disorganization/mess happens (every possible surface)?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aunt Katie permalink
    March 17, 2012 5:35 pm

    Nicely done! Now that I am done with our trip and Addy’s party; I am ready to tackle Project Simplify!

Leave a Reply

