Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Scott!

March 13, 2012

 My hubby is 28 today. Here are some things I love about him:

  1. When we watched SNL the other night, Scott was trying to tell me the name of the musical guest: “The Schnips?” I love that you make me laugh, can laugh at yourself, and have no idea who “The Shins” are.
  2. Scott enjoys  weekend dates/family outings at MOA (or Ikea, or the MN Zoo), not buying anything besides Caribou and Chipotle/Noodles&Co. He says, “It’s like vacation.” You help me keep life simple.
  3. For down time, Scott takes a book to Caribou and reads for a few hours. I love that you read.
  4. Turning out the lights at 10:45 last night, I said, “I need to go to bed earlier. Tomorrow it’s 10:30; working my way back 15 minutes a day.” After a minute, Scott says, “In 96 days you’ll be going to bed a day early.” I love the way your brain works — equal parts clever and dorky.
  5. Scott likes talking to people about spirulina and kale. I love that you’re such an advocate of health and our food choices, strange as they may be.
  6. We’ve been going to a little church down the street for a few weeks. He has not once complained about going to church or made judgments about the service. I love that you’re helping me learn to love the Church again.
  7. When the kids are being who they are — kids — and I am at my limit, Scott comes in with patience, gentleness, and, sometimes, coffee. I love that you are a nurturing daddy, slow to anger, and generous in  love (and coffee). 
  8. Scott told me when we were first dating that he wanted to take me to see the mountains. Nine years later, he did. I love that you’re a man of your word: a husband, father, and friend who honors his commitments.
  9. When Scott first read the book Irresistible Revolution, he was so excited to tell me all about it. I was not really happy about it. At all. Two years later, I read Jesus for President (which was his book, by the same author, that he had started reading before me) and was so excited to tell him about it. Rather than holding my past hard-heartedness against me, he embraced me and my passion for becoming an ordinary radical. I love that you are a forgiver, a peacemaker, a man who loves like Jesus.
  10. When we were in Colorado, Scott went on this thing called a sky coaster. Three hours later, so did I. He loves to tell that story. I love that you try new things. That your enthusiasm is contagious. That I can still amaze you. That you’re proud of me when I do new and difficult things.
  11. After dinner one night, Scott hopped on the computer. I was less than pleased since it was time to get the kids ready for bed. I said, “You’d better be on there writing me a love letter.” Later, when putting the kids down, I asked what he’d been doing on the computer. “You should check your email.” This is what I found:

Love Letter
A is a letter of Love, because your name begins with it.
And your name brings love to my soul.
I love U, too.

I love/hate that you write so well.
I love that you love with all of your being. 

Colorado, Sept. 2011

Happy Birthday, hunny.
I love you.  

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Katie permalink
    March 13, 2012 1:53 pm

    This post brought tears to my eyes…I love the love you share for each other. Happy birthday my wonderful brother.

  2. Grandma Dana permalink
    March 13, 2012 3:06 pm

    Ditto to what Katie said. So glad we brought you into the world, Scott – 28 years ago today! 🙂
    So glad you have such a wonderful wife, kids, sister, family. You are a special man.

  3. Laura permalink
    March 13, 2012 4:25 pm

    So sweet! Happy Birthday Scott!

  4. Gramma GG permalink
    March 13, 2012 4:34 pm

    What a wonderful way to share this special day with all of us who love Scott.
    xoxoxoxo

    P.S. … you better be writing me a love letter!…CLASSIC!

    Happy Birthday Scott!
    xoxoxoxo

  5. becky permalink
    March 16, 2012 7:18 am

    this is soooo sweet. Happy belated to Scote!

    also, that’s a crazy clever poem.

  6. March 16, 2012 12:35 pm

    Aww…. CUTE!……………………. SPIRULINA!!!! (just saying) hope it was a great week Scott!

Leave a Reply

