Skip to content

2012: Resolutions

January 12, 2012

2011 was a year of “becoming” for me. In 2012, I’d like to do a few things to help me continue becoming more the person I want to be, that person I imagine myself being as I near my thirties.

Scott and I do not really do “resolutions”, but for the past couple years, we’ve sat down, just the two of us, over coffee to reflect on the past year and revise our individual and family goals. We fill pages with ideas, hopes, specific tasks and objectives, and from that we cast a vision for ourselves and our family. This year, a few personal resolutions stood out to me.

So in the spirit of renewal that comes with a new year and with hope for continued personal growth, I’m sharing with you (some of) my 2012 commitments.

2012 will be the year I…

practice “early to bed, early to rise”: I believe I can be a morning person; I just need to learn how. This year, I’m working toward a 9:30 p.m. bedtime, and 6 a.m. rise and shine.

roll my eyes less: I don’t envision myself being an eye-roller in my thirties, so now is the time to break that bad habit. It’s not really something I want to model to my kids, and I think it can be somewhat disrespectful to others, even when done in jest. It does not reflect who I really am to the world around me, and it’s time for me to be who I really am.

Our little family, hiking the tundra in Rocky Mountain National Park

spend quality time with my children and my husband (rather than with my house and my stuff): I have the ability to set the tone and pace of our home life. It’s time for me to stop blaming everyone and everything else for our feeling busy and overwhelmed. While life can be both busy and overwhelming, I can still choose how I respond to those two things. Rather than choosing stress and constant “doing”, I am going to start choosing peace and being. (Remember that field?)

This also means I have to create a home environment that doesn’t require me to spend all my time cleaning, organizing, and devoting attention to my possessions. So this means it’s time to bring simplicity back to our lives through less stuff, better organization, and routines (for myself and our kids) that allow us to keep up with our dishes and laundry without detracting from family time.

Finally, this commitment means setting aside time in each day to spend with my children, just being with them. And I need to set aside time, intentionally and consistently, to spend with my husband — date nights that are always on the calendar and quality, TV-free time at home.

I think that if I’m fulfilling commitment #3, I’ll discover that I have more energy and time for being in community with others, which is an important goal of ours as a family for 2012.

***

Resources for your New Year

***

How do you mark a new year? What are your hopes for 2012?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. michele h permalink
    January 15, 2012 12:24 pm

    Amanda, I love the commitments you’ve made for the year, and think they will definitely enrich your life. I am working on tracking my spending this year–just tracking it to see what adjustments I might need to make. And maintaining positivity in friendships which, in turn, brings positivity back to oneself!

    • January 17, 2012 8:35 am

      Hi Michele,
      So glad you commented! I totally understand what you mean about tracking spending; it seems like we’re constantly evaluating that.

      Hope you have a great New Year!
      Amanda

  2. January 20, 2012 1:54 pm

    LOVE the “early to bed early to rise” idea 🙂 You have me inspired to give it a whirl!

Trackbacks

  1. in which i admit my shortcomings « The Ginn’s

Leave a Reply

