Skip to content

2011: Becoming

January 11, 2012

As the minutes turn to hours and then into days, it can be hard to see progress in myself. To see the ways I’m growing and reaching unspoken goals… hopes, really.

So before I move ahead to resolutions for 2012, I want to look back at 2011. I loved Katie’s posts at Making This Home (here, here, and here). And like Katie, I think I’d call it my year of Becoming; although, I didn’t realize she called 2011 a Year of Becoming, so now I feel like a copycat. 🙂

Here are some of the ways, superficial and otherwise, that I feel I’m becoming.

1. Personal Style: Sweats and pj’s are great. But dressing like that leaves me unmotivated and lacking confidence. For less than $100 (thrifting!), I’ve recently updated my wardrobe with high-quality and coordinating pieces I love to wear at home and out. Now I just need to add this signature look.

2. Getting mentally organized: With inspiration from Steady Mom and Simple Mom, I’m finally keeping a regular calendar. I love having a place to focus my thoughts, to-do items, scheduled activities, and meal planning.

3. Humility: I CANNOT do it all. I need help to raise kids, to rest, to have a healthy life. So when offered help, in whatever capacity, I’m learning to accept it. I’m also learning to live with what I often perceive to be “imperfection” — dirty dishes, 7 loads of unwashed laundry, and toys strewn about.

4. Community Living: In September we moved into a house in Frogtown with our friend Becky. Rather than planning and organizing all the details beforehand (my nature), we’re learning organically how to share life with another person (turns out, that’s also my nature).

****

As you look back on 2011, what were ways you found yourself becoming the person you want to be?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Katie permalink
    January 11, 2012 9:01 am

    Awesome blog, Amanda! Such great pictures and I love the outlook on life for this year!

  2. January 11, 2012 10:45 am

    really fabulous post . . . i agree wholeheartedly!
    blessings,
    shana

Trackbacks

  1. 2012: Resolutions « The Ginn’s
  2. in which i admit my shortcomings « The Ginn’s

Leave a Reply

