Skip to content

Mama? What You Thank-You For?

November 26, 2010

We have a “Thankful” poster on our wall. When we remember, we each share something we’re thankful for. After a few days of this ritual, Ainsley started taking her writing utensils and standing at the poster, shouting to me, “Mama (actually, “Mah-mom”)? What you thank-you for?”

In the spirit of so many wonderful thankfulness posts this holiday weekend (Shana, Elise, Katie, and others), here are some of the many things I’m thank-you for.

  1. The view. We can see much of the St. Paul skyline from our apartment window, and every day we’re amazed and grateful. It is a tangible and regular reminder of how much we have to be thankful for.
  2. Living in the city. I love how close we are to the library, beautiful parks, a playground, the Children’s Museum, the Farmers’ Market, the Landmark Center, free outdoor concerts, movies, and dancing, winter displays and a skating rink near Rice Park… We may not live near downtown forever, but I feel so fortunate for this opportunity.
  3. Unexpected blessings. An encouraging word from a friend. Meals when we needed them. A check in the mail. A vacuum.
  4. Family. I am indescribably thankful for our parents, grandparents, and siblings. Today, I am extra thankful for a special Thanksgiving weekend with my sister.
  5. Life not being what you planned.
  6. Real food. I often take for granted that we not only have food, but that we get to eat real food. Like Elise, I am thankful for quinoa. And squash, caramelized onions, cashew cream… Mmm.
  7. Books. More on that tomorrow.
  8. Ainsley. She gives us laughter and humility. She is our first-born, our life changer.
  9. Thaddeus. Smiles and gurgles. All boy. All joy.
  10. Scott. He works so I can be home. He is trusting and reassuring. He is young at heart and strong in his convictions. I am most “thank-you” for him.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. becky permalink
    November 26, 2010 6:50 pm

    I’m thank-you for you! πŸ™‚ I love you and your family and just really dig watching the kiddos grow. Also: I was just telling my gma about that night that Thaddeus giggled for many minutes while I held him… πŸ™‚ I need a dose of that again SOON.

  2. Gramma Dana and Grampa Ron permalink
    November 26, 2010 9:22 pm

    We are “thank-you” for the Freitags for “giving” us Amanda. We have been so blessed to call Amanda “daughter”. And of course, we love Scott, Ainsley and Thaddeus, too. Thaddeus- feel better soon, feel better soon! Ainsley, come see us again soon. πŸ™‚ Hi to the Freitags! Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. November 29, 2010 3:09 pm

    I can’t honestly say I’m thankful for quinoa, but I guess I’m glad you are! Have a fabulous day!

  4. eliseanne permalink
    December 14, 2010 3:30 pm

    πŸ™‚

    much love…

Leave a Reply

