Skip to content

Steady Days: Book Review

June 16, 2010

Back when I had regular access to the Internet, I participated in the “Mom’s 30-Minute Blog Challenge” hosted by Jamie Martin at Steady Mom. Steady Mom is one of the blogs I continue to follow, and I am always encouraged by the writing and ideas there.

Back before I was following her blog, I found out that Jamie had written a book that was getting a lot of buzz in the blog world. I requested that my library order the book, and within a couple of weeks, I had the book in hand. (I LOVE the library.)

Steady Days: A Journey Toward Intentional, Professional Motherhood is the best book on mothering that I’ve read. It is concise (only 158 total pages), it is practical (with tons of tools and samples), it is applicable (ideas can be adapted for any kind of family), and it is realistic (40 very short chapters).

Jamie’s concept is that we should bring to our homes and our roles as mothers the same respect and level of professionalism we have/had in our jobs outside the home. I like that idea — doesn’t my family deserve the best of me?

Since reading that book, I’ve created some helpful tools for managing our home and my daily routine with Ainsley. When I stick to the routine (at least the major points of it), Ainsley and I have better days; we are relaxed, connected, and more open to last-minute changes. I hope that by establishing a healthy routine for my family now, I’ll be more prepared for life with TWO little ones.

If you’re a mom looking for some inspiration, check out this book at your local library (I know there’s one copy in the St. Paul Library system). If you know a mom of young children, consider recommending or gifting this book to them. And don’t forget to visit Jamie’s blog, Steady Mom.

Some quotes I jotted down while reading the book are below. These mostly center around the idea of organization and strategy, but the book covers so much more than that. Visit the book’s website to find out more.

  • “What one area would improve my life and my children’s lives if it had more order?”
  • “Disorganization leaves less of us fully available to our children.”
  • “The stability of our children depends on my organization. Organization is a priority for me because it blesses my children.” (I would add “and my husband” to the end of that quote.)
  • “You must come up with a long-term survival strategy that will allow you to give your children your best.”
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

