Skip to content

Summer Reading

June 12, 2010

I’ll admit, reading has always seemed like more of a winter activity to me. Don’t we love to cozy up with a book by the fireplace while sipping hot chocolate and snuggling under a blanket? (At least that’s what it’s like in the movies…)

But as I adjust to life with minimal Internet access, I find myself doing a lot more ol’ fashioned book reading. Moments once dedicated to tweeting and hitting refresh on Gmail are now moments I can spend reading with Ainsley or catching up on my own books.

And, somehow, this feels summery. Like when I was a kid on summer vacation logging hours for the library’s reading program, I find myself wanting to finish “just one more page.”

After all, there’s nothing on TV anyway. I can’t sleep with this watermelon of a belly. And summer days are long days, with many opportunities to soak in warmth and words. Doesn’t it seem like the sunshine is just calling us to slow down, sit down, and read (in the sun, of course)?

I’ll be posting a few book reviews in the coming days/weeks. And I will try to keep my Shelfari page updated with the books I’m reading (good or bad) and the children’s books we’re enjoying (I usually list only the ones we really like).

If you’ve got a new (or old) favorite you’re reading this summer, please share! I’d love to hear from you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

