Skip to content

Reflections on Mothers’ Day

May 11, 2010

I have been reflecting quite a bit on the quote, “The days are long, but the years are short.” It was two years ago that I celebrated my first Mothers’ Day, my belly bulging with a growing Gizmo. Last year, we walked to the park where I watched Scott push Ainsley in the swing.

Now, here we are. Another bulging belly and a little girl who delivered a Mothers’ Day coloring page to me at 6:30 a.m., with a drawing of “Mauer” on it.

Indeed, the days are long, but the years are short.

I look ahead to this summer. I see long days (and nights) ahead for us. A new baby and a boundary-testing toddler. In the midst of the many long days ahead, will I be able to remind myself that the years are short? Will I remember this truth: “How many of us hoped for the day we could become mothers? Yet does that hope seem as thrilling when our two-year-old screams for hours in the middle of the night?

I dreamed of these days, these early days of motherhood. How tragic to miss them because I worried too much. Or spent too much time cleaning. Or filled my days with errands and busy activities.

May I see these days, these long days, with hope and patience. And may I live in them, knowing that these years are far too short.

***

Don’t forget to check out some of the links I enjoyed this Mothers’ Day weekend.

(This post of part of the Moms’ 30-Minute Blog Challenge at Steady Mom.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 11:14 am

    I love this! I feel exactly the same way. I even feel like time is just slipping through my fingers and I need to cherish these days. Even the days when I think I’m going to lose it and my patience is thin. Thanks for sharing your mommy heart!

Leave a Reply

