Skip to content

Finding My Way Back to the Kitchen via Meal Planning

May 6, 2010

I’ve been on a bit of a kitchen hiatus. It’s just where we are in life lately. But I am desperate to eat real food again, so I’m putting together a “meal plan” for the next 10 days or so. Since I just got groceries, I know what’s in the house, and I know what I’m able to make.

Here’s the plan:

  • Tonight: Leftovers
  • Friday: Pork roast
  • Sat/Sun: Leftovers
  • Monday: Burritos
  • Tuesday: Chicken stir fry
  • Wednesday: Pizza
  • Thursday: Leftovers (Scott works, so Ainsley and I will clean out the fridge of leftovers)
  • Friday: Pasta Bake

I might stray from this plan a little, but at least I have an idea of what we can eat. My alternative/back-up meals include brinner (breakfast for dinner), egg salad sandwiches, a creamy pasta/veg dish, and shepherd’s pie. Hopefully, I can also get a couple of meals into the freezer for last-minute dinners.

There. I feel better already.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. JessicainFlorida permalink
    May 6, 2010 2:44 pm

    Mmmmmmmmm. Yummy! Here’s the pork roast recipe I promised:

    Prep Time: 25 minutes
    Cook Time: 8 hours
    Total Time: 8 hours, 25 minutes
    Ingredients:

    * 1 lb. small red potatoes, cut in half
    * 16 oz. pkg. baby cut carrots
    * 1 onion, chopped
    * 2 cloves garlic, minced
    * 3 lb. boneless pork loin roast, trimmed of fat
    * 1/4 cup Dijon mustard
    * 1 tsp. dried tarragon leaves or 1 tablespoon fresh chopped tarragon
    * 1 tsp. dried thyme leaves or 1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
    * 1/2 tsp. salt
    * 1/4 tsp. pepper
    * 1-1/2 cups beef broth

    Preparation:
    Place potatoes and baby carrots around bottom edge of 4-6 quart crockpot. Place onion and garlic in bottom of crockpot. In small bowl, combine mustard, tarragon, thyme, salt and pepper and spread over pork roast. Place roast in crockpot and pour beef broth over all. Cover crockpot and cook on low for 8-9 hours until pork is 150 degrees F and vegetables are tender.

    Remove pork and vegetables to serving platter; cover and let stand 15 minutes. During this time you can thicken the juices by mixing 1-1/2 tablespoons cornstarch with 3 tablespoons water. Add to the juices in the crockpot and cook on high for 10-15 minutes until thickened. 6 servings

    I use whatever broth I have on hand.

  2. Katie permalink
    May 7, 2010 5:18 am

    Nummy… that actually sounds really good Jessica!

    Amanda your meal plan sounds great!!!

Leave a Reply

