Skip to content

Meatless Monday – Quick & Easy Black Bean Dip

April 26, 2010

I wasn’t planning to post anything today, but I had to share my latest discovery! In an attempt to include protein in our lunch without having to do a lot of work, I came up with an easy-peasy black bean dip (basically the same as a hummus recipe, with cilantro and sour cream added). Along with our thin-sliced roasted potatoes, this dip is divine.

I didn’t measure anything along the way, but here are my best guesses as to the amount of ingredients I used. I think it made about 1 cup of dip.

  • Black beans (about 1 – 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 Tbsp. sour cream
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1-2 Tbsp. lime juice
  • 1 tsp. salt (or to taste)
  • 1 tsp. fresh chopped cilantro
  • Optional: water (I needed to add a couple tablespoons to blend the beans smooth)
  1. Toss in the blender.
  2. Puree until smooth.
  3. Dip away.

Even though I’m calling this a “dip,” I think it would be great in burritos or quesadillas, or with cheese and rice.

BONUS: Ainsley loves it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 12:30 pm

    ummm, i’ll pass on the bean dip but i just wanted to say how fun it was to see you guys on saturday. hope all the packing is going well. let us know if we {meaning Kirb, mostly} can help with anything along the way!

Leave a Reply

