Skip to content

Earth Day Reading

April 22, 2010

Last year, Ainsley and I marked Earth Day by digging out weeds and trash from all our flower beds. With my bulging belly and exhaustion from Ainsley’s wacky overnight habits, I won’t be doing any weeding today.

Instead, I’m basking in the sun while doing a little Earth Day reading. I have found encouragement from a few articles by Christians, and I hope you benefit from their perspectives, as well.

Making Earth Day a Church Day

‘Soul Of A Citizen’: Jesus And Climate Change — The Journey Of Evangelical Leader Rich Cizik

Celebrating Earth Day: A Christian Perspective on Stewardship of the Environment

An excerpt:

I celebrate Earth Day, not just because I am some hippie, tree-hugger who wants to save the whales. Indeed, Iย do want to save the trees and the whales and the rivers and the icecaps and the rainforests and the topsoil.

But not just for the sake of saving them, and not just for the sake of humankind. I want to save them because they are an expression of my glorious God and an important part of His loving provision for His people.

Is this the most important thing for me to focus on as a Christian? No, not at all. There are so many other critically important parts of the Christian life, but that doesn’t detract from the fact that this aspect of life isย also important and worthy of our thought and effort.

If I am to eat, drink and do all that I do to the glory of God (1 Corinthians 10:31), then it only follows that my lifestyle and actions should also have the goal of bringing glory to God in the ways that they impact His creation.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 11:04 am

    I totally agree that we are to treat our world with the respect it deserves……granted…….Satan has come to tarnish all the lovely and good ways and things here, and has his free reign to do so for now, but I think we should all honor the creation we are blessed to reside on! We don’t need it falling apart any faster than we know its destined to already.

Leave a Reply

