Skip to content

Meatless Monday – Caprese Lasagna

April 12, 2010

Here’s a recipe I tried last year after seeing it on Rachael Ray. It was “delish” (as Rachael says). I can’t wait to try it with Farmers’ Market tomatoes and basil!

Rachael Ray’s Caprese Lasagna

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped or grated
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • A few grates fresh nutmeg**
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 box oven-ready lasagna noodles*
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Half a bunch (about 30 leaves) basil, chopped**
  • 4 Roma tomatoes, thinly sliced***

Get the assembly and cooking instructions here.

*This works with a variety of pasta types.

**I used dried basil and ground nutmeg.

***I used canned tomatoes, which also worked very well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 10:34 am

    This looks great! I’ll add it to my to-make list!

  2. April 12, 2010 10:54 pm

    We’re all lasagna eaters in the family. Lately I’ve been baking veggie lasagna. My kids are taking it pretty well. I’m quite interested though how they’ll take a meatless lasagna. I’ll definitely try this one, on Monday perhaps! Sounds a good idea to me. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

