Skip to content

Meatless Mondays: Be-Ready Tips

March 29, 2010

Has anyone tried a meatless meal in the last two weeks? Have you picked up some beans at the grocery store or tried a new variety of rice?

To me, preparation is the key to surviving and enjoying meatlessness. Some things that help make meals and snacks easier at our house:

  • About once every couple of weeks, I soak dry beans on the counter for a day or two and then cook them up and freeze them.
  • Same for rice. Having these two key ingredients in my freezer at all times ensures that I will always have something to eat.
  • You can also chop some veggies and store those, too. I often have chopped onion and cilantro in the freezer.
  • Spend a morning slicing carrots, broccoli, and peppers.Β You’ll have quick snacks ready and you’ll be well on your way to a delicious stir fry for dinner.
  • If you like hard-boiled eggs, cook up a few for the week so they’re ready for sandwiches, salads, and quick snacks.
  • Double your recipes. Put the extra muffins or pancakes in the freezer for rushed mornings.
  • Freezing also works well for a second lasagna, pot pie, or soup.

Single-Serving Egg Salad (for a sandwich or leafy salad)
This classic dish is one of my favorites. It always tastes like summer to me. Serve with seasonal vegetables or sliced fruit for a light and easy meal. Make it a heartier dish by serving on toasted, thick-sliced, homemade bread with a salad on the side and some roasted vegetables.

  • 2 hard boiled eggs, peeled and diced
  • A generous spoonful/scoop of real mayo
  • A squirt of mustard
  • A light splash of vinegar or pickle “juice” (you know, the liquid in a pickle jar)
  • As much dill as you can stand (I like mine with LOTS of dill)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • dash of paprika (opt)

Mix until it reaches desired consistency. For a sandwich, spread on bread (or toasted bread — even better!). Top with seasonal leafy greens like spinach, bib lettuce, romaine, or your favorite variety. Try it with sprouts, cucumber, or another favorite crispy veggie!

For a salad, pile the greens and veggies high. Add egg salad to the top. Dig in.

How do you like your egg salad?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 11:41 am

    We’ve been meatless for a month, so you’d think I would have a ton of recipes to pass on too. But we tend to just throw things together. We usually start with a base of one or a combo of rice, barley, couscous, lentils, orzo, random pasta. If we have beans ready, we add some of those. Then we cut up peppers, onion, garlic, random fresh veggies (carrots, parsnip, potatoes, squash, sweet potatoes), frozen broccoli and corn, and either fry them in a skillet with olive oil or sesame oil, or we roast them in the oven with the oil and maybe some thyme or rosemary.

    We usually stir in some parmesean cheese or a peanut sauce or something, add it all together in a big bowl, and call it good!

    πŸ™‚

    • April 1, 2010 1:18 pm

      I’m inspired by the variety you’ve found in grains! I haven’t ventured into them as much. Not growing up with them, I’m a little scared of them. Cous cous and lentils and so forth.

      But you definitely need more beans. Beans are such a staple for us. Maybe you should cook up a batch of grains for me, and I’ll cook up some beans for you. Then we will always have them on hand. πŸ™‚

      Curious: Are you guys losing weight with your new eating habits?

  2. April 1, 2010 3:23 pm

    Yes, we are working on the beans.

    I loooove grains which is why we have such a variety…it would be hard for me to ever cut them out. The new one I want to get and learn about is Quinoa. I still dont really know what it is.

    I have no idea if we are losing weight…good question. We/I dont exercise, so I wouldnt call us super healthy yet. We were both gradually gaining weight over the last year and a half, and we have both stopped that and stabilized or gone down a few pounds. We dont pay attention that much…So I guess I can say that we aren’t gaining.

  3. April 1, 2010 3:24 pm

    PS

    Flavored couscous is the best way to start I think, but they dont come in bulk that way. I got a mixed container of spinach/tomato/regular at Cub. I could eat it alone I love it so much, Tony has to have a food w/a sauce to like it.

Leave a Reply

