Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Scott!

March 13, 2010

Hi, Honey.
Happy Birthday! I didn’t get you a card. Or a gift.
But I want you to know what it is I love about you and why you’re so wonderful.
I love you,
Amanda

You make me smile, even when I don’t want to. It’s really annoying. And totally great.

You can get Ainsley to giggle like nobody else.

You read smart books. And you read to Ainsley before bed every night you’re home.

You eat what I cook and brag about me. You are not just supportive of me; you go beyond that. You walk with me, grow with me, and truly believe with me. I always know we are one.

You are generous in so many ways.

You show Ainsley what the love of her Heavenly Father is like. I can’t wait to watch that happen every day with Gadget, too.

You care about other people. Really. It comes out of your soul that love for people, and you teach me to love others, too. It’s how you live your life.

You get excited about the little things that are so easy to miss. From cheese on hashbrowns to building compost bins. You make life more fun.

You make me melt. I like your scratchy chin. And when you wear jeans in the house with bare feet.

You believe in others. You see their potential. You see what’s possible. Need proof? The girls’ basketball team.

You work hard. But you know your limits, and you respect our time as a family.

You love Jesus. And you want everybody to know him by name. Thank you for teaching me to call him “Jesus”. Did you know that Ainsley says his name now, too?

And finally, you are a man of thought and action, intention and initiative. I love that you’re a thinker. And I love that you’re a d0er. I am so proud of you and all that you’ve accomplished. Here’s to all the many adventures that await us…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Katie permalink
    March 13, 2010 8:01 am

    Happy Birthday little brother! What a great man you are and have become. I admire the man you have become and the great family you have. Have a great day.

  2. March 15, 2010 8:11 am

    What a sweet message Amanda. Happy belated, Scooter. Keep on taking time to enjoy and grow with the wonderful family God’s blessed you with!

Leave a Reply

