Skip to content

Feb. 23: I love…

February 23, 2010

… mama blogs. And I want to share the love with all of you today.

I’ve been hesitant to share the sites for some mama blogs because I want to keep them all to myself, but that’s mean and selfish and downright sinful. So I’m sorry for not sharing these sooner.

I’ve looked over my list of 47 blogs (yep, I follow 47 blogs) and selected what I might call “big” blogs. I follow quite a few “small” bloggers, too, that are pretty awesome.

But the blogs I have chosen to highlight are by women who have made a semi-career out of blogging, and their professionalism and devotion as both mama’s and bloggers has been so helpful to me in the past 18 months of motherhood.  I hope you’ll be blessed by them as much as I have.

Steady Mom: This is the latest and greatest for me. I’m currently reading Jamie’s book and have been bookmarking various posts from her blog for the past 2 weeks. I look back at them often to help me stay organized, focused, and inspired.

Simple Mom: Simply the most helpful, most organized, and most professional “mama blog” I follow. The tagline, “Live simply, stay sane. Life hacks for home managers,” explains what I love about the site: Simplify. Be organized. And, here, use these helpful tools to get there. (It’s worth exploring the newly expanded family of “Simple” blogs… Homeschool, Organic, Bites (food!), Kids.)

Passionate Homemaking: Lindsay is a normal person, and that’s what makes her blog so appealing to me. Some common topics include nutrition, Biblical womanhood, and living naturally. I’ll be honest, I don’t soak my grains and I don’t ferment anything in my kitchen (at least not on purpose), but Passionate Homemaking does help grow my passion for homemaking. Thanks, Lindsay.

SouleMama: Beautiful. Just beautiful. This blog gets my creative juices flowing. Every post opens my mind to new ideas about how to enjoy being at home with my little ones. Playing, creating, dancing, learning. There is much to love about being “Mama”.

Will you take a minute and share one or two of your favorite mama blogs?

(This post is part of the Moms’ 30-Minute Blog Challenge at Steady Mom. Also part of Kerry’sFeb. ‘10 “I love…” for February 23. Please click on the “I Love” button on the sidebar to visit the other great blogs sharing the love this month!)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 2:47 pm

    http://71toes.blogspot.com

    This is one of my favorites – she just really enjoys motherhood. You can tell!

    I hope you get lots of comments…I will be back to see what others say. I follow the ones you follow two! I think mama blogs are a great resource and support system…however, lately I can see how much time I can suck up with reading them. Need to manage my time better with it.

  2. February 23, 2010 2:59 pm

    Aren’t mama blogs the best?! I started reading Soulemama after buying her first book. Another one I have been reading for almost that long, although she wasn’t a mama when I first started reading, is Meg’s Sew Liberated. She blogs about crafting and motherhood. Looking in her archives you’ll find a lot of Montessori resources too as she was a Montessori teacher before mamahood. Lately I have been finding a lot of inspiration at Shivaya Naturals. I have a lot of smaller blogs that I love the best though… those are the ones where I have made real friendships!

  3. February 23, 2010 3:12 pm

    Thank you so much for including me on your list, Amanda. It’s an honor!

    Jamie

  4. February 23, 2010 3:37 pm

    alright my very favorite is Holy Experience: http://www.aholyexperience.com/ but I’m not sure it would be classified as a mamma blog, it’s more about spirituality, but since she’s a mom 6 times over, I think she counts! She is amazing! {and soon have a book!}
    anyway, if you’ve been paying much attention at all, you already knew this, but . . . just in case!
    have a great day!
    Shana

  5. February 23, 2010 3:41 pm

    oh, and fyi: i have over 60 that i follow . . . it’s craziness i tell you! many of them are crafty blogs to get ideas for MOPS though, since i’m in charge of crafts and all. and soule mama has been a favorite of mine for a couple years now!
    speaking of MOPS . . . did you get my email? wanna be my friend?

  6. February 23, 2010 9:30 pm

    I love momma blogs too, they are just so fun. I love all the ones you mentioned. and Holy Experience. This one is good, too: http://fimby.tougas.net/ and also http://pinkandgreenmama.blogspot.com/ has great, fun craft ideas.

  7. February 23, 2010 10:42 pm

    I’m a big fan of Steady Mom (visiting from there) and Simple Mom as well! A few newer ones I’ve come across are:

    Serene Journey
    Zen Family Habits
    Inspired to ACTion

    I’d categorize my own in the ‘mama blog’ circle as well. Pay me a visit if you have room in your blog roll. 🙂

  8. February 24, 2010 3:02 am

    Oh I love this sharing! Who doesn’t want to find more inspiring fun blogs?! I really love http://angrychicken.typepad.com/ I think she’s got a great humor and she makes amazing clothes for herself and her girls and she bakes a lot. 🙂

  9. February 24, 2010 2:01 pm

    Ooh!!! I love a list… Two that aren’t on your list that come straight to mind: Gotta love Small Notebook (http://smallnotebook.org/) and Ordinary Life Magic (http://ordinarylifemagic.blogspot.com/) Have a good week!!!

Leave a Reply

