Skip to content

Feb. 22: I love…

February 22, 2010

Photo credit: Graham Turner/Guardian

… freshly baked bread.

Have I already said I love this? Because I really do love bread. Real bread. The kind I can smell while it rises and bakes. Mmm…

I love digging my hands in to the dough to knead it. I did a lot of bread baking by hand this summer. I wanted to get a feel for how it all works and feels; I’m a pretty tactile person. Plus, I hadn’t found a bread machine recipe that was working for me. It was all too dry or too dense or too… wrong.

What’s more… I’m stubborn. I don’t like to depend on appliances or quick foods to do my cooking. I like to soak dry beans instead of buying them in a can. I like to do things by “hand” — wash dishes in the sink, mix cake batter with a spoon, pop popcorn on the stove, etc. The only Gizmo‘s and Gadget‘s I like are the ones I carry in my womb for 9 months.

Then reality set it in. We needed bread. I wasn’t going to buy it at the store. And I couldn’t always find the time to make it by hand. So with a new recipe on hand, I gave the bread machine another chance.

And, boy oh boy, am I grateful for my bread machine.

Can I live without it? Probably. But I’d probably be eating a lot less bread.

And that just won’t do.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 4:16 pm

    Bread I love but it makes me fat!

    Please join my giveaway in honor of this I love Month…it’s been nice to meet you in your blog world. I kinda stopped posting but am still enjoy the love.

    Rae

  2. Katie permalink
    February 22, 2010 5:21 pm

    That looks so nummy!

  3. February 23, 2010 8:07 am

    Oh, I love homemade bread too. No bread machine though.

Leave a Reply

