Skip to content

Feb. 16: I love…

February 16, 2010

A long time ago, when all the grandfathers and grandmothers of today were little boys and little girls or very small babies, or perhaps not even born, Pa and Ma and Mary and Laura and Baby Carrie left their little house in the Big Woods of Wisconsin. They drove away and left it lonely and empty in the clearing among the big trees, and they never saw that little house again.

(opening paragraph, Little House on the Prairie)

… re-reading the books of my childhood. It’s like comfort food to my mind.

And now I can share these same books with my own children. I read the first chapter of Little House on the Prairie to Ainsley during her bath last night. To know that these books will be a part of her childhood, as they were a part of mine and my mom’s, is warmth, a cozy blanket on a snowy day, wrapped around my heart.

What connections will we forge through characters we love (and loathe) together? What lessons will we learn as we grow? What stories will bind us to one another and to the world around us? Where will we go?

The more that you read, the more things you will know.
The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.
-Dr. Seuss

*******

(This post is part of the Moms’ 30-Minute Blog Challenge at Steady Mom. Also part of Kerry’s Feb. ’10 “I love…” for February 16.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 10:03 am

    Oh Amanda, we are reading the whole Little House series right now! We read a chapter with Henry every night before bed. It has been so fun. Henry is really enjoying them and is learning so much. Neal and I have laughed over our memories of the books and the show. We’re about halfway through Little House on the Prairie which is the second book in the series. I’m also looking forward to reading all of the Anne of Green Gables books when the kids are older too. Your imagery in this post is really beautiful!

  2. February 16, 2010 11:53 am

    I love that my kids love the same books I & my brothers & sisters loved! It IS comforting!

  3. February 16, 2010 12:46 pm

    I love that series! Ben and I are in the process of slowly reading aloud the whole series to one another… I can’t wait until our kids are old enough to want to join in.

  4. Pop Pop Rick and Gramma GG permalink
    February 16, 2010 2:51 pm

    Ohhhh….Those simple days of the Ingalls!
    I get teary when I HEAR the musical intro for the TV show when flipping thru channels.
    I think I’ll check “The Long Winter” out and read it again….realize I’ve got nuttin’ to complain about!

    Love you!
    Mammama

  5. February 16, 2010 4:41 pm

    My daughter is reading the Little House series and I’m loving it b/c I remember devouring those books when I was little. We did get to watch a few episodes during our “snow-in” and my daughter kept saying how the actors did not look like the book characters.

  6. February 17, 2010 12:42 am

    ok, i’m convinced, i’m going to have to re-read these books with my boys!

  7. February 17, 2010 11:04 am

    Oh wasn’t Dr Seuss right about the places you will go!!! I can’t wait for all my kids to be reading!!! I will have a very quiet house as we all virtually travel from here to there looking at funny things everywhere… Have a great week.

  8. February 18, 2010 7:37 am

    I agree!

  9. February 19, 2010 8:45 am

    I’m reading the series to my 6 year old twins and I thought my son wouldn’t be interested, but he asks every night if we can read more. It has been great listening to them talk about what they like about the stories and how different things were back then. I loved the series when I was a kid and I love the fact that I can share it with my kids.

Leave a Reply

