Skip to content

Feb. 15: I love…

February 15, 2010

… Monday mornings.

What the what?!

That’s right. With a few exceptions, I really do enjoy the start of a new week. I hate seeing Scott trudge out into the snow to return to work (after only one day off, especially). But we’re so grateful that he does.

And I really can “feel” for those of you who had to get up and get to work this morning. I remember dreading Mondays, right along with you. I remember Sunday nights of worry and near anxiety about work. Weekends were always too short; Mondays felt like punishment for having taken Saturday and Sunday off.

But now I see a fresh start. A new week. A clean slate.

I love that Mondays are the day we get back to routine. It’s just Ainsley and me again. We read, we play, we color, we dance, we cook. And it makes Mondays special.

Mondays are also my day for simple chores: laundry, dishes, straightening messes, and making a warm meal. I write out some ideas for the week, think about upcoming meals, and fill out my own version of this daily planner (sometimes).

And on the Mondays that nothing gets marked off the to-do list, I need a reminder like this:

“There is no such thing as a simple act of compassion or an inconsequential act of service. Everything we do for another person has infinite consequences.”
– Caroline Myss

Or this:

“Begin doing what you want to do now. We have only this moment, sparkling like a star in our hand and melting like a snowflake. Let us use it before it is too late.”
-Marie Beynon Ray

So I hope you can take the clean slate you’ve been given and write some inspiration on it for your day, for your week, for your heart.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 12:43 pm

    must have been that nasty boss you had that made you dread mondays! hope your new week is a good one!
    take care!
    shana

  2. February 16, 2010 10:00 am

    Today feels like a Monday to me as we had a long weekend at home together. I totally get this. I feel the same way about Mondays now that I am at home with the kids. It is much harder when working, I think because we’d like to be with our families. I love these words of encouragement, especially the Marie Beynon Ray quote. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

