Skip to content

In the quiet.

January 26, 2010

Our days are quiet and (mostly) peaceful. We read, we play, we do laundry and dishes. Often, it feels as if we’re always together. I’ll chop veggies while she drags pots and pans out of the cupboard. I’ll fold laundry and then she’ll unfold it all. I build a tower; she knocks it down.

But Ainsley also does really well playing alone. In fact, she will often wander off by herself with some task in mind — standing the flashlights up on the windowsill, relocating all her puzzle pieces, or unloading a basket of laundry. Work, work, work.

Then things get quiet. Feet stop running. Puzzle pieces stop scuffing across the floor. Laundry baskets stop bumping into walls. I set down the dish I’m washing, dry my hands, and come around a corner to find Ainsley sitting quietly with a book.

And I’m enamored.

I’m grounded.

I’m present.

I’m Mama.

This post is part of the Moms’ 30-Minute Blog Challenge at Steady Mom.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 10:02 am

    Oh, I have absolutely had this moment. It takes your breath away.

  2. January 26, 2010 10:04 am

    Hi, I really like this post, sounds like you have a very productive little one who is interested in all the right things. I love those moments too.

    I saw your link at the Steady mom blog challenge.

    Warmly,

    Mendy

  3. January 26, 2010 10:14 am

    This was a beautiful post. I could really imagine the peace in your home. It feels very different here with 2 boys, 3 and 9 months. Not so much peace and quiet, unless it’s bed time!

  4. January 26, 2010 10:28 am

    Yes, those moments do take your breath away! Lord, help me to stop & enjoy them!

  5. Grandma Mommo permalink
    January 26, 2010 1:22 pm

    Oh, Ainsley. I miss you! (I miss your mommy and daddy too :)). You are so precious. I’m glad you like books. I like to read books too! I’m looking forward to reading more books to you.

    Bye for now! Love you all!

  6. January 26, 2010 1:36 pm

    That’s so sweet. Somehow this post reminds me of my quiet days at home with my first baby. Now there are two wee ones running around, but there are still those lovely quiet moments… albeit not quite as often. ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://www.simplelifemusings.blogspot.com

  7. Grampa Ron permalink
    January 26, 2010 1:54 pm

    There you go! Title: “In the Quiet.” A children’s book with all the words. I have a few ideas for an illustrator. I’m serious!
    There is nothing that takes the stress out of my busy work day better than a You Tube production of Ainlsey Roo. Warm heart. Smiling face. Longing for more.

  8. January 26, 2010 3:20 pm

    Precious – it’s amazing how these little people have so much to teach us if we stop to pay attention.

  9. Pop Pop Rick and Gramma GG permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:34 am

    This just melts our hearts.
    Its like watching you all over again.
    Thank you for sharing this lovely real moment with us.

    See you Friday!!!!

  10. January 27, 2010 4:13 am

    This post and video game me a lot of insight about you as a person and as a mamma Amanda. And well, I think you’re amazing. Just a lovely post. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. January 27, 2010 9:12 am

    Cute – Lovely!!! We didn’t realize quite how loud the background noise in our house was until we tried to hear a child recite a poem on video… there were a lot of background voices in our quiet moment!!! Have a good day!!!

  12. January 27, 2010 12:05 pm

    I’m grounded. I’m present. I’m mama.

    Beautiful.

    Glad I found your blog, and would welcome you to stop by today for the first of a series called Rise Up: Stories from the Mother Net (and a giveaway to boot!) From reading what I have, I think you’d enjoy Joellen Raderstorf’s words…

  13. Victoria permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:45 pm

    My girl is five and I still get these moments with her. But I remember distinctly when she was this age.
    I loved watching her discover and react.
    Thank you for taking me back.
    ~Victoria

  14. January 30, 2010 3:27 pm

    This is what life’s really about, you know?

Leave a Reply

