Skip to content

Completely Pro-Life

January 14, 2010

I hate abortion.

To take this

Gizmo 11 weeks

and erase it as if it never existed pains me.

To take this

gizmo-3d-thinking

and destroy it piece by piece breaks my heart.

To take this

ultrasound_39_hg

and murder it in a most disturbing fashion makes me quite literally sick.

But to be completely pro-life, I have to fight for more than just their right to live.

I must advocate for adoption. I have to fight for safe neighborhoods, playgrounds, and homes. I have to care about access to good education, nutrition, and health care. I need to do my part to give them breathable air, clean water, and a healthy start to life. And then I need to want these things for all people, everywhere.

This is a series I’ve wanted to start for a long time, but I’ve been putting it off. I know I might alienate readers. I know we won’t all see eye-to-eye, even if we share the same anti-abortion beliefs. I just ask that we be gentle in our disagreements.

If you have 22 minutes, please watch this video (It’s been divided into 3 parts).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 8:09 pm

    I posted something like this on Facebook a while ago, and got some really positive responses from other believers and some pretty crazy responses from people who think life is theirs to take. The phrase ‘woman’s right to choose’ makes me cringe. I look forward to more postings on this topic and I really appreciate your diving further into what it means to be pro-life; pro-adoption is something Ive advocated for a long time; the voice it has in the chaos seems to be getting stronger. I think particularly of a man I know, who’s ex wife once told him, if she ever got pregnant she would abort the child without telling him a word of it. And another male friend of mine, who struggles to convince his companion to keep their baby- and let him have full custody, because she is afraid to be a mother. Prayers all around, and awareness to the max on this one!

  2. becky permalink
    January 20, 2010 10:44 pm

    good post. i agree, it seems the term “pro-life” could definitely be expanded a little. i mean. just look at that word: life. what a topic.

    you’re cool, amanda. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Completely Pro-Life, Part 2 « The Ginn’s

Leave a Reply

