Skip to content

Holiday Series: Don’t Waste It

December 16, 2009

Don’t waste money. Okay, there might not be much of it to waste in this economy. But how many Ho Ho Mochas does a girl really need (ahem.)? Pool that “holiday goodies” money and see what you can do with it! Pick a new charity. Ask your pastor to pass it on to a family who needs it. Put it on a grocery card for your friend who just lost their job. (And remember, it’s not too late to return an extra gift and donate the funds.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 9:53 am

    Great ideas!!!
    Just one other thought that entered my mind…..the people who work in the retail stores are also depending on their jobs, so perhaps it isn’t always bad to buy an extra gift or two? To make sure their jobs are secure?
    I also had a thought about mailing Christmas cards instead of e-mail. While I agree that e-mail saves paper, what about the postal workers? Their jobs are already scarce with the rise of technology.
    Just something that’s been on my mind as I’ve watched a few close friends lose their means of making a living this year.

    I LOVE the idea of giving to Toys for Tots and offering to shovel snow for your neighbors. Two ideas I think I will put into practice this year. šŸ™‚

    • December 16, 2009 10:58 am

      Thanks for commenting, Laura. I appreciate the feedback. Nice to know someone other than my mom is reading. šŸ™‚

      We are not boycotting retail altogether. We love supporting local small business owners and artists. I also like supporting organizations like Goodwill, Arc, and consignment shops, where the money is put back into the community.

      And I REALLY love sending mail, especially cards made by my friend Shana. http://www.5elevendesign.com. We decided that an online card works well for us at Christmas. But I enjoy sending cards and letters throughout the year for lots of other reasons.

      But, ultimately, these are personal choices, and it’s okay that we see things differently. I’m glad we can “disagree” pleasantly.

      And just know that you’re always welcome to shovel our driveway. No, really. Please?

  2. December 16, 2009 1:59 pm

    Haha! Yes, I would love someone to shovel ours too! Especially when it’s so cold out! šŸ™‚

    I am all for supporting local owners, especially small business owners who have the most trouble.

    And I agree 100% that it’s nice to be able to discuss differing opinions without an argument. We are family after all. šŸ˜‰

    We really look forward to seeing you guys at Christmas on the 20th!

  3. Jen Wallis permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:49 pm

    I can for sure hook you up on the Ho Ho Mocha front… šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

