Skip to content

A Little More Green: A Holiday Series

November 25, 2009

With Thanksgiving, the “official” start of the holidays, only hours away, I find myself searching for holiday spirit. Usually it comes so easily to me, but this year I have to remind myself, “It’s here. It’s now. Don’t miss it.”

I also find myself reflecting on the ways this time of year can suck the life right out of a person. The way the “culture of Christmas” deceives us into believing we should shop, shop, shop and eat, eat, eat and go, go go. This year, I don’t want to clutter my mind, heart, or home with busy things. I want to create of home filled with simple joys, quiet moments, and hopeful anticipation.

As I’ve been thinking about this blog series, I have a hard time knowing what to share and what to shut up about. The holidays are such a personal thing. Butting in with suggestions about saving money and producing less waste is tough. Suggesting a break from tradition is especially tough. (“But we always leave the Christmas lights on after we go to bed.”)

But then I remember that this world is fleeting. Just like our money and our things, we can’t take our traditions with us. So while we’re here, we want to do our best to make this world livable for those who need Jesus. Because if they can’t live here long enough or well enough to know Jesus, then they will live eternally apart from Him.

So I’m mustering up the courage to share a few ideas I have for this holiday season. The theme is “Don’t waste it.” Scott and I are not necessarily practicing each and every idea, but I hope that someday we will. I also hope that you will be encouraged to find a simpler way to celebrate this season along with us.

May your heart and your home be filled with joy.

Happy Thanksgiving!

(Thank you, total stranger, for blessing us with this precious family photo at Gooseberry Falls.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Katie permalink
    November 25, 2009 3:19 pm

    What a beautiful family! Love you three! Looking forward to the holiday blogs!

    • November 25, 2009 3:23 pm

      Thanks, Katie. Just a few more months before you’ll have a family of three photo. Well… technically you’re already a family of three. But it will be nice for the third member to make an appearance outside your belly for photographs.

  2. Grandma Mommo permalink
    November 25, 2009 3:35 pm

    Amanda,

    Thanks for helping us all to think a little differently. It really doesn’t hurt our brains and really helps our hearts.

    Katie & Amanda (and Scott and Ben, of course),

    Keep those little grandkids coming! We love Ainsley and Addison!

    What a nice picture your total stranger took – what a beautiful place for a beautiful family.

    See you all tomorrow!

    Love,

    Mommo

  3. November 25, 2009 4:34 pm

    Amanda,

    I really like this perspective on the whole “being green” trend.
    The Christmas traditions are great, but what matters most has to be our hearts!

    Cute picture!

  4. Gramma GG permalink
    November 25, 2009 5:18 pm

    What a LOVELY LOVING FAMILY!
    It will be a blessing to hear you share ideas.
    Share away.

    Wishing you a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Trackbacks

  1. A Little More Green: “Don’t Waste It” « The Ginn’s

Leave a Reply

