Skip to content

Wednesday Farmers’ Market

August 20, 2009

Our trip to the market was brief and thankfully made with a car yesterday. I still have zucchini, carrots, and potatoes to use from last week’s trip. I also picked a second cucumber from the garden this week. Creamy cucumbers, here I come!

Yesterday’s picks:

  • 2 red bell peppers for $0.75 each

They are being put to good use in tonight’s at-home Chipolte fajitas. After using our only green bell pepper from the garden for this tasty meal two nights ago, I am excited to have fajitas again with MORE peppers this time. Here’s my “recipe” (rather… a list of ideal ingredients):

  • Grilled pork chop (well-seasoned), chopped up
  • Tortillas
  • Rice – I like basmati rice cooked with cilantro-lime seasoning and a dash of salt.
  • Onions, garlic, and peppers cooked up on the stove. I like the peppers to still be brightly colored and “crisp” so they are added to the stove last and cooked for only a few minutes. I add a dash of seasoning to this, as well.
  • Black beans (or any beans, really)
  • Sour cream
  • Cheese
  • Avocado
  • Whatever else I can find – corn, salsa, lettuce, fresh herbs, tomatoes…

Assemble, eat, and repeat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    August 20, 2009 10:13 am

    So how was dinner?

  2. August 20, 2009 10:41 am

    I posted this today… so we’ll be eating it tonight. I’m excited. When we ate the same thing two nights ago, we loved it.

Leave a Reply

