Skip to content

My Great-Grandma Ruth

August 13, 2009

My Great-Grandma Ruth is a very special person to me. She is always so joyful, understanding, and kind. I have fond memories of being “buzzed in” to her condo in Richfield where she’d have a plate of krumkake ready for us to take home. (Yum!) We’d walk over to the nearby Champs where Grandma would tell us all about her recent Branson travels and condo activities. Busy as a bee…

P8010001_2_2

Grandma moved to Tupelo, Mississippi a few years ago, home to her daughters Lynette and Gaylene. I wish I had visited Grandma more while she still lived so close by. Thankfully, Grandma’s love is unconditional and unaffected by distance.

P8010011

In the midst of such a sad time mourning the loss of Grampa Vern, I was incredibly blessed by the gift of seeing Great-Grandma. Along with Lynette, Gaylene, and my Dad’s cousins, Grandma travelled 16 hours straight in order to be in Round Lake for the visitation and funeral. I know her presence was a comfort to so many of us.

P8010038

I was finally able to introduce Scott to Great-Grandma, and he could see for himself the woman behind Ainsley’s name. I had told Scott at the beginning of 2009 that I wanted to see Grandma, somehow, this year. But we had no idea how we would be able to find the money or time-off to travel. God answered prayers by bringing Grandma to us — Thank You, Lord!

P8010008

And, of course, the greatest blessing was introducing Ainsley Ruth to her namesake.

P8010047

P8010054

I don’t know what Grandma was saying, but it captivated Ainsley. I love this image.

Five Generations

P8010002

Great-Gramma Sharon Freitag, Great-Great Grandma Ruth Hoffman, Pop Pop Rick, Mama Amanda, and Ainsley Ruth

P8010010

I love how Ainsley is holding Grandma Ruth’s finger.

I will sing of the steadfast love of the Lord, forever;
with my mouth I will make known your faithfulness
to all generations.
(Psalm 89)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 6:30 am

    To all the Freitag/Hoffman family: I am happy to email digital copies of these and other photos to you. Just leave a comment or contact us.

    I am sending printed copies to Gramma Sharon and Grandma Ruth.

    If you have photos you’d like to share, please email them to me at amanda.rose.ginn (at) gmail.com.

    Thanks!
    Amanda

  2. JessicainFlorida permalink
    August 13, 2009 8:50 am

    Oh man, that last photo made me cry! Praise the Lord for answering your prayers to visit with Great Grandma Ruth and making a sad time beautiful.

  3. Grandma Mommo permalink
    August 13, 2009 4:12 pm

    I should NOT have looked at this while at work. Sob sob sob. This is beautiful.

  4. Gramma GG permalink
    August 13, 2009 4:49 pm

    Ahhhhhhhh……speechless….unable to see the keyboard.

    God has blessed us beyond all imagination!

  5. Pop Pop Rick permalink
    August 13, 2009 6:48 pm

    The five generations picture makes me realize I am the luckiest middle man on the face of the Earth.

    Love,

    Pop Pop

  6. Ashley permalink
    August 14, 2009 11:34 am

    Amanda, I love the pictures.

    If you could send me as many as you want, that would be awesome. I’ll be getting a cd from Katrina this weekend with her pictures (they usually turn out better than mine), and I’ll send them your way. You need to see her great ones of Ainsley and Camryn!!

  7. Ashley permalink
    August 14, 2009 11:35 am

    Also, I don’t think I love the pictures quite covers it.

    I bawled. I know, I do a lot of bawling. Nevertheless.

Trackbacks

  1. Update « The Ginn’s

Leave a Reply

