Skip to content

An Update on Our Lives

August 6, 2009

Life has been hitting us very hard lately. There are lots of good things going on, but our hearts are heavy, too. As a result, I don’t have much interest in the internet nowadays. I much prefer the simplicity of a sunny afternoon, the collecting of ribbons for Ainsley’s basket, and reading an encouraging book. Here is what’s happening in our world:

Ainsley

  • Ainsley is almost 1. And she’s acting like it. We play together like never before. She sits through story after story. She loves her Pooh Bear. She interacts well with other babies, toddlers, and “big” kids at the park. She explores. She plays quietly for long periods of time with a sock drawer or her “whirlygig” toy. She eats and eats and eats. She initiates peekaboo behind the closet curtain. She is a happy girl.
  • Ainsley talks, kinda. We recognize her words for picture, book, baby, ballpuppy, dada, Pop Pop, and Pooh.
  • Ainsley walks, kinda. On her 11 month birthday, she took two steps toward me. While she’s attempted this before, this was with a look in her eyes and confidence we hadn’t seen before.
  • After our long (rather, emotional and travel-filled) weekend, Ainsley had a fever for 24 hours with no other symptoms. Praise God she’s back to normal now!
  • Ainsley eats just about any fruit or vegetable. She’s also eating some grains and beans. She still nurses about 4 times a day.
  • Ainsley sleeps through the night and naps 2x a day, mostly. After the weekend and with her fever, our “schedule” is being re-learned. But she’s doing really well!
  • We are trying more creative things during playtime. Yesterday, Ainsley and I colored. I framed her 1st drawing and put in by my bed. Then we colored the underside of some wrapping paper I taped to the wall as a “Welcome Home” sign for Dahdee.
  • Ainsley met her namesake over the weekend, Great-Great Grandma Ruth. What a blessing. I will share more about that soon.

Scott

  • Just a couple more weeks of camp — can you believe the summer is almost over?!
  • Scott has mowed the lawn 2x in the last 6 weeks (that’s my estimate). We don’t water and it doesn’t rain. It’s a great way to NEVER have to mow.
  • Scott is one of many “best men” in Eddie’s wedding this weekend. He is going to the bachelor party tonight (playing basketball, then bowling). Rehearsal dinner tomorrow night. Wedding most of the day Saturday. Congratulations, Eddie and Tiffany!
  • Scott drove 10+ hours between Friday afternoon and Sunday afternoon. He found a way to leave work early on Friday so we could attend my Grampa’s visitation, and then he suggested we spend Saturday night in Alexandria to be with my family, even though it was an easier and quicker drive to get to St. Paul from Round Lake. That time with my family was so special, and I am so grateful that he was willing to do all that chauffeuring.
  • Scott got to visit my favorite place in the whole world: Gramma’s house. Although under sad circumstances, our visit to Round Lake was filled with joy as we connected with my extended family.

Amanda

  • I, along with my whole family, am grieving the loss of Grumpa Vern. Thank you to all of you for your loving words. I hope to share more about Grumpa as I find the time.
  • I, along with the rest of my family, am dealing with (or… crying about) the fact that my sister now lives on the other side of the country. Grace moved to Maryland this week. I will share more about that when I find the time.
  • I’m learning how to be a mama to an almost 1 year old.
  • I missed yesterday’s Farmers’ Market, but that’s okay because I’m growing beans, peppers, tomatoes, radishes, and cucumbers like crazy in my garden. The beans are ready to pick and eat daily. The rest are a few weeks off, but getting very big!
  • I’m trying to get through the next few days without groceries. We have plenty to eat; it just takes a little planning to make it edible. I wonder how far I can get without butter and eggs? Thankfully, Walgreens is just down the road if I really get in a pinch.
  • I am reading a great book.

All of Us

We are so happy. Life is good. God is faithful. Even with so much sadness in our lives right now, we have many reasons to celebrate. We know that God provides. We know that God heals. We know that God hears us.

Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praise… Elijah was a man with a nature like ours, and he prayed fervently that it might not rain, and for three years and six months it did not rain on the earth. Then he prayed again, and heaven gave rain, and the earth bore its fruit. (James 5)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

