Skip to content

Wednesday Farmers’ Market

July 22, 2009

Another Wednesday, another trip to the Farmers’ Market.

Praise God it was a great morning for walking! I found $8 in cash in the house and took inventory in the fridge: we needed lettuce, onions, maybe potatoes. That left me a dollar or two to spend on an item of my choice.

Before we left the yard, Ainsley found a pine cone we’d picked up at the park and left near the front stoop. She held onto that pine cone the entire walk to the market and throughout our time there. About 1/3 of the way home, she dropped it in the crosswalk, and I wasn’t about to stop while crossing. Sorry, baby girl. We’ll get another one at the park later today.

With a later start than usual, we arrived at the market around 8:25. I was surprised at how many more people were there! Even more enjoyable was the diversity of gender, age, race, and mammal (there was a dog or two). We got home around 9:00.

Today’s Picks ($2 each):

  • a bundle of yellow onions
  • a mixed tray of red and yukon gold potatoes
  • a bag of mixed lettuce
  • a tray of peapods

A Recipe

Yesterday, I was in the mood for an uncomplicated, vegetable-based lunch. I wasn’t super hungry (thanks to the peanut M&M’s in the cupboard… ahem). Here’s what I came up with:

  • 1 small zucchini, sliced (skin on)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 tsp. oil (or butter)
  • 1-2 Tbsp. heavy cream (I think heavy cream makes everything taste awesome, especially when added to carmelized onions.)
  • a little flour, salt, pepper

I sauteed the zucchini, onion, and garlic in the oil on medium-high heat for a few minutes. Then I turned the heat down to medium-low (to medium) while I gave Ainsley her oatmeal (maybe about 7 minutes).

I added a little flour, salt and pepper to the softened/browned veggies, scraping the brown bits off the bottom of the pan. Finally, the heavy cream (oh yeah…). I cooked over low heat for a few minutes until the heavy cream was absorbed by the veggies, stirring occasionally. I didn’t want it to be runny, but you could have it that way, too.

I ate it just like that, but I think it would be yummy over pasta or rice. You could also add it to your spaghetti sauce or serve it as a side dish.

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 10:38 am

    Mmmm….that recipie sounds so good! In my quest to get healthy, I’m eating tons of fruits and veggies, and I’m not terribly creative, so I love hearing new ideas for yummy recipies!

Leave a Reply

