Skip to content

Wednesday Farmers’ Market

July 15, 2009

Car or no car, I wanted to get to the Farmer’s Market today. I didn’t get there last week, and I’m in need of fresh peas and lettuce. 

We bundled up. We scrounged up $8 in cash and change. We stuck two clips in Ainsley’s thickening hair. We set out for our 1.2 mile adventure to the Farmer’s Market.

P7150091

It’s a breezy, cloudy day. I think we felt a few sprinkles along the way, but it was ideal walking weather, especially considering its July. 

We rolled along at great pace and got there in under 25 minutes. After checking out all the prices and choices, I selected produce from a few different growers. At one stand, we bumped into our neighbor, Judy. It’s the first time we’ve seen each other out and about. 

Today’s picks: 

  • $2: A grocery bag of mixed lettuce (It’s overflowing in a huge salad bowl in the fridge now. I have no idea how to store all that lettuce!) 
  • $2: A tray of peas (I’m addicted.)
  • $2: A tray of zucchini (to be roasted with garlic and s&p, added to spaghetti sauce, or baked in bread)
  • $1: A bundle of yellow onions
  • $1: I asked for half a tray of green beans (It was that or beets. I decided to stick with what I know.)

We finished the 1.2 mile walk home in about 20 minutes. Ainsley chewed on her elephant the entire way. Oh, and she waved emphatically at an elderly woman walking past us. 

I love the Farmer’s Market.
And I love Ainsley.

I have a pretty great life.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Katie permalink
    July 15, 2009 5:50 pm

    I would love to go with you to the Farmers Market sometime… Never been there….

    Also—do they only take cash?

    Talk soon
    Love ya

  2. July 16, 2009 9:56 am

    Hey Katie,

    You’re welcome to come with us on Wednesday’s. We usually go between 8-9 a.m. before Ainsley’s nap. Otherwise, you can search for a market near you: http://www3.mda.state.mn.us/mngrown/searchresults.aspx?location=coon+rapids. Or here: http://www.stpaulfarmersmarket.com/markets/18/.

    Cash only, yep!

    Amanda

  3. Molly permalink
    July 16, 2009 11:28 am

    Peter just told about our new Farmer’s Market in Farmington. It just started last week and I guess it drew quite a crowd!
    We are planning on walking over there this afternoon, and strangely enough, it’s about 1 mile from our house too.

    • July 16, 2009 3:17 pm

      Hope you have fun and find enjoy your fresh produce!

      • Molly permalink
        July 16, 2009 10:01 pm

        We did have a great time!
        We spent only $16 and got a ton of veggies, potatoes, and raspberries too! What a great deal! I can hardly wait to get started on dinner for tomorrow night.
        I was wrong, though…it’s about a 2 mile walk from our house, not 1 mile. Oh well, more exercise!

      • July 17, 2009 8:12 am

        Oops! I forgot I picked up a bag of potatoes last week. They are so fresh; the skins rub off at the touch. Yum!

  4. JessicainFlorida permalink
    July 16, 2009 3:44 pm

    I love how Ainsley is crossing her little legs at the ankle. Such a little lady already! Plus, how can I not love a girl who is already accessorizing for shopping trips!?!

    Also, mmmmmmmmmmm…peas!

    • July 17, 2009 8:13 am

      I was hoping someone would catch that. Of course you would! We miss you!

  5. eliseanne permalink
    July 16, 2009 3:59 pm

    So I definitely felt the pang of conscience last time I bought my fresh veg at Cub. We decided a few months ago to not by veg at Aldi (where we get the majority of our groceries) because they package everything unnecessarily, so we’ve been getting them at Cub. This week I brought our own plastic bags to Cub for the veg (old bread bags, which, got scanned once, oops). And I still got the conscience pang!

    I tried to get Tony to join me in a commitment to only by fresh/local from now on, and he gave a half-way yes. Thanks for the above websites of finding our markets! Now I just have to learn the hours and learn how to keep cash on hand. And in a pinch we have Mississippi Market and Whole Foods nearby too.

    You’re my inspiration! 🙂

    • July 17, 2009 8:20 am

      Elise,
      I had to make a VERY intentional effort to buy US-only produce yesterday at Cub (except for bananas). I gave up kiwi (Scott’s favorite) because it’s a product of ITALY!!! California is where most of our US produce comes from, but that’s still closer than Italy, New Zealand, and Chile.

      Keep making small changes and great choices. The more we support local growers directly (e.g. Farmers’ Markets) and local produce at “big box” stores (e.g. Cub and Target), the more local produce we’ll have to choose from.

      A final note, I struggled yesterday when I wanted to buy individual (unpackaged) apples. They were all from far-away lands. Meanwhile, the only US apple (pink lady) happened to come in a big plastic bag and was all the way from Washington state. Oy! It felt like a lose-lose, but I need the apples for Ainsley at this point.

      I can hardly wait until MN’s apple season arrives. Let’s all go to an orchard!

      • eliseanne permalink
        July 17, 2009 1:58 pm

        ooh orchard! i am in!!

  6. Gramma GG permalink
    July 20, 2009 8:08 pm

    Mercy!
    Where does chocolate come from?
    Let’s not go too nuts here!
    wink

    Honestly, your passion to support local growers, their families
    and making ecologically sound decisions with your personal finances
    is an inspiration.

    Let’s start a cocoa farm.

Leave a Reply

