Skip to content

greenitude: endocrine disruptors

July 9, 2009

I have a lot to say about endocrine disruptors. These stinkin’ things really irk me. Hormones are so delicate and so important to our makeup as human beings, affecting everything from our sexuality and blood glucose levels to our emotions, behavior, and physical development. Disruptors to our endocrine system affect us at the most basic level.

I can’t wrap my brain around increasing the supply of information and research on the topic, and sometimes I’d just like to forget I know what I know. Nonetheless, this is serious stuff, affecting developing babies in the womb, pregnant women, children, and even us full-fledged adults. 

This isn’t about hysteria. Rather, it’s about awareness. The more we know, the better choices we can make for our health, our children’s health, and the health of our neighbors (near and far).

Since there is so much information available, I’ll keep my statements short and focus this post on linking you with resources, should you have any interest in this subject matter. And if you don’t have interest, there are some cute Ainsley pictures to look at in the post below this one.

There is growing interest in the possible health threat posed by endocrine-disrupting chemicals (EDCs), which are substances in our environment, food, and consumer products that interfere with hormone biosynthesis, metabolism, or action resulting in a deviation from normal homeostatic control or reproduction. In this first Scientific Statement of The Endocrine Society, we present the evidence that endocrine disruptors have effects on male and female reproduction, breast development and cancer, prostate cancer, neuroendocrinology, thyroid, metabolism and obesity, and cardiovascular endocrinology. Results from animal models, human clinical observations, and epidemiological studies converge to implicate EDCs as a significant concern to public health. (Italics, bold, and underlining added by me.)

 

 

  • If video is more your thing, you can watch Kristof’s appearance on “The Colbert Report”. Warning: The content is… well… from primetime cable television. While there is some good information, it is presented through a satirical comedy show intended for “grown-ups”. 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 4:27 pm

    Hey there,
    You should have gotten an email invite from me for my Norwex party on the 20th at 7. I REALLY hope you can come. I just know you’ll love their stuff! It’s all chemical-free cleaning and personal care products and a few other household kind of things. Really, really you need to hear about them. You were the first person I thought of when I heard about them and I think of you all the time as I use mine. You’ll love it! Let me know if you could come! Plus I’d love to see you!
    Shana

Leave a Reply

