Skip to content

Tossing and Turning Over a New Leaf

July 2, 2009

One of the twelve books I picked up at the library this week was a book entitled, Good Night, Sleep Tight: The Sleep Lady’s Gentle Guide to Helping Your Child Go to Sleep, Stay Asleep, and Wake Up Happy.

51YSCEGG45L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

 

It’s a mouthful.

I wasn’t really looking for a sleep-training book. Ainsley goes to bed just fine about 95% of the time. Overnight is a different story. And I usually have no idea when she’ll be up in the morning and when/if/for how long she’ll nap during the day. I thought I’d glance through this book and glean some basic tips that didn’t involve “crying it out,” a technique that I fail at when the cries come at midnight and 4 a.m.

I quickly realized I can’t just “glean” from this book; I have to make a commitment. A two-week training commitment that lasts 24 hours each day. 

Are we ready for this kind of commitment? Not really. Do I want to keep getting up 2-3 times a night to breastfeed while during the day Ainsley naps for only 1.5 -2 hours at inconsistent times? Not really. We all need more sleep, and we need to commit to teaching Ainsley how to sleep so that we can all sleep. And from what I’ve read, I like this method and I feel ready to start making these changes.

I’m going to spend the next few days preparing myself for the upcoming 2 weeks. I need to understand that methods and then help Scott understand the methods. My hope is to start the training on Monday or Tuesday. We’re already implementing some of the steps (like earlier rising, a morning nap, an afternoon nap, and early bedtime). 

More than likely, our social lives will be on hold for these two weeks while we stick to a consistent schedule, and for at least the first few days we are all going to be getting even less sleep. But, Lord willing, by the end of the month we’ll be sleeping through the night, and we’ll understand and be able to meet Ainsley’s sleep needs heading into her 1st birthday. 

I’ll report the progress here on the blog and on Twitter in case you’re interested in following along. If you want to find out more on this book or the methods, visit the Sleep Lady’s website.

Sweet dreams, I hope!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Katie permalink
    July 2, 2009 12:32 pm

    Once you can figure that out for Ainsley, I would like to be taught this as an adult. I sleep horrible. hahaha

    I hope you guys have a great 4th of July!

  2. melissa permalink
    July 5, 2009 2:32 pm

    I had to read the book “The sleep Easy Solution” to learn how to get my kids to sleep good too!!!!! It is so hard to train them into good sleeping habits…..but sooooooooooooooo worth it after a couple days. Good luck! you will be happy you did it ( and she will be too!!)

Leave a Reply

