Skip to content

Love the Farmers’ Market!

July 1, 2009

I just came home from the Farmer’s Market in Maplewood. It was my first time at this nearby location. I’ve previously enjoyed the weekend market in downtown St. Paul (a great experience for any St. Paul resident) and the Friday market off Summit Avenue (a little too small for my liking). The proximity plus the size of Maplewood’s market is ideal for me.

The top three reasons I love the market:

  1. Local (as opposed to this or this) produce at its freshest grown in my community
  2. A lot of pesticide-free produce
  3. Prices

P7010063(This pile of produce is about 18×18 inches)

  • $2 – Zucchini
  • $4  – Strawberries
  • $3 – Snow Peas
  • $3 – Green Beans
  • $3 – Lots of lettuce
  • $0 – Squirrel proofing advice from the master gardner ladies
  • $0 – A giant grocery tote bag from the master gardner ladies just for asking for their free advice
  • $0 – Waves and squeals from Ainsley to all the buyers and growers
  • Priceless – Wandering through a small crowd of buyers in the July drizzle, taking in all the fragrant produce grown by local families I’m happy to support, and sharing it all with my 10-month-old daughter in her pink sling. 

Give your local farmers’ market a try!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 12:15 pm

    I absolutely LOVE the downtown St. Paul Farmer’s Market!
    When Jason and I lived downtown, we actually lived in the apartment building that is directly across 4th street from the market. Right out our front door! We went there all the time.
    Everything is so fresh and the prices are great!

    • July 1, 2009 12:30 pm

      I forgot you lived downtown. Parking is impossible on Saturday’s, so living within walking distance would be perfect. Plus you were walking distance from Keys Cafe. Jealous!

      • July 1, 2009 1:52 pm

        Yeah, parking can be a pain. I really do miss living down there. I think I’m really a city girl at heart! 😀

  2. Grandma Mommo permalink
    July 1, 2009 3:46 pm

    Where’s the picture of Ainsley at the Farmer’s Market???? 🙂
    I want to go sometime!!

  3. Aunt Katie permalink
    July 2, 2009 6:57 am

    Fresh veggies looks so good!!!! Nummy… eating lots of fresh fruit and veggies is so refreshing in the summer!

Leave a Reply

