Skip to content

Meghan & Me… and our babies?!

June 27, 2009

Meghan is my cousin closest in age to me on my mom’s side. Growing up, I thought we didn’t have much in common. She was a daredevil. I was much more timid. Meghan wore pants at the family Christmas. I had to wear a dress. Meghan had really great bangs. Mine were less impressive. 

Yet we spent almost every Christmas and Easter together, and usually a week or two over the summer, too. She took me out on a jet ski at her cabin (probably against my will), and we played Barbies at my house (probably against her will). We had braces at the same time. We celebrated birthdays together. We went to an outdoor Christian music festival and got into a mud fight together.

And then at some point when we weren’t paying attention… we both grew up, went to college, got married, and… had babies?! 

Last Saturday, Ainsley and I went to a baby shower for Meghan and her daughter, Lainey Marie. Our daughters are about the same age apart as Meghan and I are. At the shower, there was a time when Meghan and I were changing our girls’ diapers in Meghan’s old bedroom. It was weird. And really wonderful. 

P6230002

P6230005

P6230006

P6230004

P6200187
“Full Circle”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    June 27, 2009 9:33 am

    Wow! She looks just like your mom/mom’s side of the family!

    FYI: You will not be able to write a blog like this about the closest cousin in age on the Freitag side anytime soon.

    • June 29, 2009 9:23 am

      Oh, your post is coming! It might not be about our babies, but how can I resist photos of the two of us looking ready to clobber each other?

  2. Meghan permalink
    June 29, 2009 10:59 pm

    Well I just got home from the cabin and thought I would log into your account to get my next diaper lesson 101 and little did I know I would come across postings of Lainey and I. Reading that brought me tears and yet lots of laughter! I would have to agree that most of that is absolutely true! I do have to admit though….I did enjoy playing barbies even though I may have acted like I was doing you a favor by playing with you! LOL….I don’t think I ever saw those pictures of us. Brings back lots of great memories. Thanks for the wonderful post! We will have to get together sometime soon! Great seeing you!

    Hi to the family!
    Meghan

Leave a Reply

