Skip to content

Ginn Cloth-Diapering 101: Part 1

June 24, 2009

***Disclaimer: This is our diaper story, our diaper method, our diaper ideas. It might not be the same as your diaper story or your diaper method, and that’s okay. We all get to make the choice. Even the biggest cloth diaper advocates need a couple weeks’ (or months’) worth of disposables every now and then. So no judgement here. Just a diaper story and some tips.

What This Series is All About

  • Everyone has their own story and their own way of cloth diapering. I wanted to go in-depth with our experience. 
  • As I started writing, I realized I had a lot to say (those closest to me will not be surprised by this fact). Rather than create one ginormous post, I decided to create a series. 
  • This is Part 1, covering Our Story
  • In future posts, I’ll talk about the myths about cloth, products you can skip, stuff you’ll want, the specifics of the Ginn cloth diapering method, and more.

Our Story

It was almost a year ago that we were picking out cloth diapers. We were overwhelmed, clueless, and … overwhelmed. There are so many choices in cloth diapers today and a huge array of disposable choices, too. You can even buy eco-friendly disposables at any ol’ store (e.g. g Diapers are flushable or compostable; Seventh Generation diapers are chlorine-free). 

When I started reading about cloth diapers online, I fell in love. Earth-friendly, baby-friendly, budget-friendly. But I wasn’t sure I could convince Scott because here’s the reality: Cloth diapers are an investment. 

So one Saturday afternoon, we went to Peapods to get to know our options better. Scott started calculating costs in his head. Then we went to Target and did more math. Scott pitted the cheapest disposables up against a middle-of-the-road cloth diapers and covers.

We ended up with math that we could not ignore: We would spend more on Target-brand diapers over the lifetime of our child than we would on cloth diapers. Toss in the eco-/baby-bum benefits. Add the bonus of reusing the cloth diapers on more than one kid. Sold.

We’ve used cloth for over nine months. It doesn’t phase us to put a diaper in the toilet. It’s second nature to carry wet diapers around in our blue bag when we’re out and about. And washing diapers — it’s a piece of cake. We love cloth diapers.

In my next post, I’ll bust some myths about cloth diapers. Until then enjoy this dainty cloth-diapered darling…

P6100126

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 10:25 am

    I think I’m ready for cloth diapering 301 or 401 or something. When do you do that one?
    Enjoy the sprinkles of rain and the less crazy hot weather!

    • June 24, 2009 12:07 pm

      Seriously, Shana — could you and Kirby write that parenting book already?!

  2. Molly permalink
    June 24, 2009 3:59 pm

    Even though cloth diapering is not for me, I do enjoy reading others ideas about it and the reasons why they choose it.
    I’m not surprised to hear that it is more earth-friendly, but cheaper? Maybe it’s because we just get really cheap diapers from Sam’s, but I always thought that nice cloth diapers were pretty spendy. Plus, I thought there were lots of other expenses involved, like a lot of laundry and a lot of laundry soap (perhaps even more spendy organic varieties of soap–in trying to be more earth friendly and possibly more baby friendly as well).
    If I weren’t already in love with disposables and almost done with diapers period, you might have me sold on everything except the price :).

    Looking forward to our picnic next week! I always love seeing pictures of Ainsley and her longer hair too :).

    • June 24, 2009 4:48 pm

      Hey Molly,

      I’ll be addressing the cost myth tomorrow or Friday in my next post. Yep, cloth can cost a lot, but not necessarily more than disposables. More on that later this week…

      Thanks for your comment!

      • Molly permalink
        June 24, 2009 5:26 pm

        Thanks for the response. I kind of like this little reply dealy.

  3. Meghan permalink
    June 25, 2009 1:44 am

    I will be waiting for the next few posts. Im interested in learning more from you since we have not yet started our cloth diaper experience! hopefully its something I can handle!

    Meghan

Leave a Reply

