Skip to content

On my mind… mostly food-related.

June 16, 2009
  • Summer means camp. During staff training last week, Scott worked 12-15 hour days. Fortunately, after his first day of actual camp on Monday he was home shortly after 5:00 p.m. He’s really trying to keep family life first, and I am so grateful that he loves us enough to do that. Please pray for a safe summer filled with discipleship for the kids and staff. 
  • I love fresh food. You know I love black beans (there’s another pot of them on the stove now). I also love egg salad with dill. Might I recommend you try an egg-salad salad? It’s bright and cheery (and it leaves you feeling healthy) on a cloudy summer day. 
  • Speaking of salad… After buying a Target bag full of lettuce and spinach for only $3 (what a steal!) at the St. Paul Farmer’s Market, I realized I actually enjoy salad. Not the leave-you-feeling-guilty kind with bacos and cheese and iceberg lettuce, but the what-a-good-choice-I-made salad with dark, leafy greens and olive oil. Mix a dash of salt, pepper, italian seasoning, and garlic with the extra virgin olive oil for a perfect side salad. And of course, you can top it with egg salad for an Amanda-approved lunch.
  • I made some super-yummy blueberry corn muffins this morning. They are not at all healthy, but I highly recommend them! I used one cup whole-wheat flour, two cups all purpose flour. I also used a regular silicone muffin pan (not the recommended parchment paper thing-y. I mean, we can’t all be Martha). 
  • Our garden is in. I am attempting to grow tomatoes, bell peppers, cucumbers, radishes, carrots, green beans, watermelon, and lettuce. We have draped a bird net over the area to keep squirrels, cats, birds, and rabbits out. So far so good. Except for the tomatoes. Since they are not yet covered (only a cage around them), the squirrels have already chewed off my little green tomato, took one bite, and left it on the ground. (Grr.) Time to get some chicken wire. But I’m up for other suggestions. 

What’s on your mind? Any great summer recipes to share? 

I hate to see her leave, but I love to watch her go….

P6120130


One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2009 3:56 pm

    i got nothin’ in the summer recipe department . . . you’re barkin’ up the wrong tree for that one!

Leave a Reply

