Skip to content

Northern (high)Lights

April 16, 2009

At the beginning of April, we spent a long weekend in Alexandria. Although it’s only two hours northwest of here, they still had piles and piles of snow. In fact, earlier that week, they had closed schools for like the tenth time this winter. The closer we got to Alex, the more snow we saw. The view out my parents’ kitchen window was laughable. The neighbor’s north-facing front yard had over a foot of snow! 

Other than the cold, snow, and the 24 hours I spent in bed from what I guess was food poisoning (more likely I’m just a weakling and can’t handle all the junk food anymore), we had such a great time.

I finally got to see my brother perform LIVE in the high school jazz bands. He played electric guitar in one band (with a solo in three out of four songs) and trombone in another (no solos this time… bummer.). It was so awesome! Scott stayed back with Ainsley, but even they got to see the concert online (live streaming video is such a great thing!). 

Here are just a FEW pictures. Believe me, there are many more. I’ll stick to the highlights.

p4030009  p4030013
Happy girl, and then sleepy girl, on the road.

p4030020

We surprised my mom at work. We had decided at the last minute that we were going to make the trip a day early, and only Bennett knew we were coming. When we arrived at my mom’s counter, she just about fell over. 

p4030024  p4030030

“Gramma GG and Pop Pop know how to play with my toys?!” 

p4040039  p4040054

  p4040053  p4040050  Uncle Bennett (rather, Untle Beddett) was happy that Ainsley wasn’t spitting up on him or crying for her parents. (Oh, and don’t worry — the shockingly blonde hair on Bennett’s head was from the swimming season. He has since been returned a normal Freitag color.)

Maybe on our next visit, there won’t be any snow in Alexandria. What do you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. JessicainFlorida permalink
    April 16, 2009 1:54 pm

    Bennett looks like a natural!

  2. Chrissy permalink
    April 16, 2009 2:37 pm

    I can’t believe how grown up Bennett looks…wowser….
    And Ainsley is getting so big…I was just in Alex yesterday and the snow is mostly gone…but, still some sightings.
    Blessings on you and the Fam!

  3. Gramma GG permalink
    April 18, 2009 12:49 am

    Honestly…you could have knocked me over with a feather when I spotted Scoot loitering at my counter!

    Seeing you three was the best gift a Gramma and Mommy could ask for.

    Loved every minute we had with you….even sharing my bedroom with you when you had the “pukers!”

    xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

