Skip to content

This is NOT an apology.

February 25, 2009

The world continues to remind me how important it is for Scott and me to teach our children how to apologize. And I’m reminded that I have to practice real apologies. 

Although many in the media praised this apology, I was incredibly disappointed. It’s not a real apology. It’s not an apology when it starts with “I’m sorry you…”

So to Rupert Murdoch, Chris Matthews, and others, I say, “I’m sorry you think that’s a good apology.”

Next time, try this: 

  1. Expressing regret by saying, “I am sorry.”
  2. Accepting responsibility by saying, “I was wrong.”
  3. Making amends by saying, “What can I do to make it right?”
  4. Repenting by saying, “I’ll try not to do that again.”
  5. Requesting forgiveness: “Will you please forgive me?”

(borrowed from this book)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. radcliffelion permalink
    February 25, 2009 12:13 pm

    While I disagree that an apology was warranted here (free speech means we shouldn’t have to worry about offending everyone), I COMPLETELY LOVED the little paragraph about a good apology! How true that is. Too often I think people make the apology about themselves rather than the people they are apologizing too. If I am genuinely sorry for what I did to someone, I should be repentant and willing to make genuine amends for what I did. Otherwise it’s just words!! 😀 Good stuff!

  2. Gramma GG permalink
    February 25, 2009 2:10 pm

    I fully agree with you My Dear.

    Bonnie deserved none of it and having differing opinions doesn’t make one
    a bulls eye for verbal target practice.

  3. Ben Paxson permalink
    March 2, 2009 12:40 pm

    I am not a fan of landblasting someone..but I also believe in free speech.

    Not the best way to make fun of someone, but its also fine that they did it.

    I got to watch every single show like that for the last 8 years treat President Bush like crap…so I find it hard to care about some actor’s feelings getting hurt.

  4. Ben Paxson permalink
    March 2, 2009 1:02 pm

    By show I mean:
    Articles, TV and magazines.

Leave a Reply

