Skip to content

Good Morning. Or at least it was morning when I started this post…

February 23, 2009

Hello. 

Another Monday. How are you all feeling about that? It’s sunny here. Freezin’ cold, but that has little affect on me since I’ll be indoors all day. Unless I decide to take out the trash. 

Did you watch the Oscars? We watched about 20 minutes worth of it throughout the night, but mostly Scott watched the Wolves game. And we went to bed at like 9:30. I’m reading Three Cups of Tea right now, and it’s just getting good. I had to force myself to turn out the lights and go to sleep at 11:00. What are you reading? (Check out our bookshelves in the links on the left.)

If you want to see something funny, watch the first few minutes of the Martha Stewart show from today. It’s a funny opener. And her guest, Jimmy Fallon, cracks me up. Too bad I won’t be staying up late enough to watch him on Late Night starting March 2. 

If you’re up to it, watch the first whole segment of Martha in which she makes about 60 pounds of meat with 30 pounds of sauerkraut. What the heck?

Ainsley’s teething like crazy again. Her gums are all swollen and bumpy and ready to burst. She’s not too happy about it. She’s napping now. (insert peaceful, relaxed mom sigh here)

I love Caribou. For those of you who are not from ’round these here parts, that’s coffee — not the reindeer-like animal. I used to love white chocolate mocha’s, then it was caramel high-rise’s, and during the holiday’s, I’m all about the ho ho mocha’s (with candy cane’s!). But lately I feel so grown up now because my drink of choice is an almond latte. Yummy. Hey Jessica, there’s a new drink – Vanilla White Chocolate Mocha. What do you think? 

So I’m all about organic food now. (Big surprise, right?) Now when I go to our ginormous grocery store, I shop in a small part of the produce section (the organic section), and then I hit the “natural” section, which is only made up of about 3 aisles. Can I just say that shopping is a lot easier when you have to wander through only 3 aisles instead of 30? I’m usually the only one there, so I have plenty of space/time/peace to read labels. I just meander around looking at flaxseed and blue chips and garbonzo beans. I imagine what life used to be like when there were small family or general stores for shopping. You knew the clerk at the counter, you ran into people you know. You purchased the produce that was in season, fresh eggs and cheese, and the latest flour from the mill. I think choices make shopping more complicated, not more interesting.

This week, I am going to visit a new grocery store that specializes in natural and organic foods. It will be interesting to compare their selection and prices to the giant store I’m become accustomed to. 

I’d like to have a small vegetable garden. Green beans, fresh herbs, and a few tomatoes would be good enough for me. But I have no idea how to keep all the rascally squirrels out. Maybe I’ll ask Martha. 

Scott is teaching CPR and First Aid to his co-workers this week. Sometimes I’m just so impressed with him. He has a lot of interests and skills that don’t come up in our everyday home life, so I always enjoy being reminded of his “hidden talents”. And did you know that in the last week or so, he’s read about 1,000 pages of the book series he’s reading? His parents talk about how he’d always stay up way too late reading as a teen, but what kind of parent wants to make their kids stop reading? I love that he reads. It’s a very attractive quality to me. 

I know, I know. “Who the heck cares about all this nonsense? Where are the Ainsley photos?” Don’t worry. Ainsley photos will be coming this week. I won’t continue to bore you with my random Monday morning thoughts all week long. I captured some great photos of Ainsley this morning. Aren’t you excited to see them? And I’ll have a new greenitude post for you, too. 

Thanks for putting up my talkative post. I welcome your talkative comments on any of these topics or a random topic of your choice. There’s no better way to deal with a Monday than to talk, talk, talk. So grab a cup of coffee and start typing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 1:24 pm

    oh, i also love a good almond latte . . . have you ever had a light white berry mocha but without the berry and with caramel instead? try it! kirb told me that one!

  2. Meg permalink
    February 23, 2009 2:31 pm

    Which grocery store are you going to? I’m with you in trying to break away from the giant, complicated and mostly unhealthy vastness of major grocery chains. We’ve got Trader Joe’s down the street but I heard Whole Foods might be the way to go??
    I grew up with a grocery store similar to what you described…I miss small town life 🙂
    Hope everyone is healthy!

  3. Gramma GG permalink
    February 23, 2009 3:41 pm

    Well, first of all, “poor Ainsley!” ouchie woo woo!

    Next, you are DEAD ON Sis with the label reading, thinking about what you eat and shopping smart! Hang on and I’ll set you up with some links to buy online too.

    The “olde days” of family run grocery stores is not that “olde.” They existed when I was a kid and even after we moved back to SC. One store even delivered groceries after your brother was born while I was housebound and your dad working his tale off!

    Your Gramma Julie told the story of supporting her local grocer down the street. She’d phone in her order and he’d deliver. One day she apparently opted to walk to the store for her order. It was then she realized the meat cutter was in the same cubby as the toilet!

    Facts like these may be part of the reason for the decline of the family grocery store!

    wink

  4. Jen Wallis permalink
    February 23, 2009 11:58 pm

    vanilla white mocha = super duper over-the-top sweet… you can hardly taste the coffee…. you should try a white mocha w/ almond and have a packet of raw sugar sprinkled on top instead of chocolate shavings. it’s a sugar cookie mocha!! delish!!!

  5. JessicainFlorida permalink
    February 24, 2009 3:19 pm

    Mmmmmm…Caribou!

    That’s all I’ve got. Just wanted to say mmmmm.

  6. February 24, 2009 5:31 pm

    who’s jen wallis? that woman’s got some good coffee ideas! i’m totally gonna try that almond white mocha! oh how i love almond! and sugar cookies! . . . is she your friend who works at caribou? that would explain all the insider drink knowledge!

Leave a Reply

