Skip to content

Bookshelf

January 9, 2009

Scott and I are now officially library geeks — we (heart) the library. For more on why it’s so great, check out Shana’s “Thankful Thursday” post.

And since WordPress is having errors when I try to upload photos, I thought I’d take this opportunity to invite you to check out my new favorite thing: Shelfari. It’s an online bookshelf of what you’ve read, what you are reading, or what you plan to read.

I saw the shelf on Shana’s blog, and I had to get my own (still trying to figure out how to make mine appear on the blog)! It’s so fun to check out what friends are reading, add a book to my list, and get the satisfaction of marking a book as “I’ve read”.  Plus, by keeping an online bookshelf,  you get a sense of ownership without actually having it take up space (and money!).

So please sign up and build a shelf! I’d love to steal some books off your shelf. Hopefully I can get my shelf updated soon with all the books I’ve read in the last couple years…

Oh, and one more thing. I highly recommend these three books. Check them out at your local library or at your church or let me know if you’d like to borrow them. And then read them over the same period of time. They complement one another very well. 

1. The Jesus Storybook Bible

2. The Shack

3. The Hungering Dark

You can find these books on my shelf.

Now go curl up with a good book!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    January 9, 2009 8:06 pm

    The Shack……..is that a good one? I’ve thought about reading it but some of my family on the in-law side said it was controversial and that there were some “un truths” in it, so I’ve stayed away.

    I trust your opinion, so maybe I’ll give it a try. 🙂

    I love the library too! Why pay for a new book and then try to find space for it when you can read and return???

  2. Gramma GG permalink
    January 12, 2009 12:31 pm

    As one book lover to another…..
    I hear ya!

    With our frequent moves, our books have been whittled down
    to precious few.

    Here are books I won’t part with:
    –Everybody Poops
    –Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs
    –The Three Little Kittens
    –Here We Go
    –Once Upon a Time in a Meadow

    Of course, these are you children’s favorite books. Complete with
    chewed edges, seams popping and in the Here We Go case…a dead
    battery.

    I haven’t read them in years.
    Nonetheless, I think I could recite them by memory if called upon.

    Enjoy your snowy day.
    Mammama

  3. January 12, 2009 4:58 pm

    hey, i don’t know if you have plenty of diapers for ainsley or not (but, it seems to me you could always use one or two more!) but i have a few pocket diapers that anna’s cute butt has outgrown and you are welcome to them if you want. i know you don’t use pockets, but you might like ’em if you gave them a try. i have mostly pockets, but some all-in-ones and some fitteds (with covers) too and i like the pocket ones best, but everyone likes something different. so, just let me know . . . and i have one cover (bummis super whisper wrap, in floral) that doesn’t fit her anymore either. i was trying to sell them on craigs list, but no one’s biting!
    oh, one is a pocket change brand, one is a fuzzi bunz and oneis a happy heinies, i was trying them all to see which brand i like best and i’m pretty much a bumGenius girl!!

Leave a Reply

