Skip to content

I’m so close to being one of those people who purchases embroided Santa sweaters on QVC.

October 28, 2008

I gave in.

I couldn’t wait just 5 more days.

You see, I have this self-imposed rule, mostly for my husband’s sake, that Christmas music has to wait until after Halloween, and then all bets are off. Come November 1, it’s non-stop Christmas music in our house, our car, and in my head until sometime in January. It’s the only way I can cope with nine months of Minnesota winter and I just love the stuff. It’s right up there with Caribou Coffee. And my dad knows I’m addicted to these tunes — he asked when we were home in early October if I had been playing Christmas music yet.

But today, I sang “Sleigh Ride,” “Winter Wonderland,” and “Let It Snow!” to my baby girl until she fell asleep. And that did me in. I had to plunk my Martha Stewart Christmas collection into the player, and it’s been Frank’s “White Christmas,” James Taylor’s “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” Elvis’ “Blue Christmas,” and Nat’s “The Christmas Song” ever since.

Merry Christmas, I guess.

Leave a Reply

