Skip to content

Seven, Sixty-Four, Fifty-Six, Twenty-Two

October 15, 2008

Seven: Weeks Old
Here’s Ainsley in the (clean) laundry basket yesterday, just chillin’. I have to take pictures today for her 7 week birthday.

Sixty Four: Children, Grandchildren, Great Grandchildren, Great Great Grandchildren
I talked with Ainsley’s Great Great Grandma Ruth yesterday. She said that she figures there are 64 people branching from her family tree. That is quite the tree, Grandma Ruth!

Fifty Six: Department 56 memories
I love hearing the stories from my dad about visiting his grandparents. These stories include rides on a Greyhound bus and something about selling shoes. My mom has a Department 56 Christmas display of a family being greeted outside a Greyhound bus to commemorate the grandparent visits of my dad’s youth. It is so fun to have something tangible to help the next generation (me!) remember and celebrate family history.

Twenty-Two: Years at 2948 109th Avenue NW
This weekend, Scott is helping his parents move out of the house they have lived in for most of Scott’s life. There are too many memories to count and many that can’t even be described because they are just too much a part of you. Even in the six short years I’ve known that house, it has become part of so many of my own memories.

Scott and I had our first Valentine’s date in 2003 at that house with Chinese food and sparkling grape juice.

I will never forget my first official Ginn Christmas, which was right after Scott got back from his Intercultural Studies internship in 2005. We knew we were going to get married, and I had such a sense of permanency and belonging in the Ginn family that Christmas.

I loved playing with Henry in the soft grass of the backyard. He could be off his leash because the yard was fenced in, and he was so happy to just run. He and his cousin Struno would play for hours and then sleep for days afterward.

The kitchen table is where I learned to play dominoes and where we all became addicted to Uno.

It’s the house we visited last year on December 25 to tell Ron and Dana that they were going to be grandparents. And nine months later, Ainsley made her first visit.

This weekend we’ll write our closing stories and make our last memories for 2948 109th Avenue NW. We will reminisce with tears of sadness and deep joy. But mostly we will celebrate. Celebrate the stories about childhood — bikes, Bruno, and belly laughs. Celebrate the stories about Jesus — salvation prayers, sovereignty displayed, and songs of praise. And celebrate stories about love — hug rugs, hut hut’s, and hot Christmas Tea.

We will miss that house. But the great thing about a house? When it’s a home, it stays with you wherever you go.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    October 15, 2008 3:02 pm

    I shouldn’t have read this at work.. It brought me to tears… Happy Tears of course.. Last week Ben and I were having dinner and Chili’s after I had helped my dad bring two loads to the storage place and I just broke down.
    I mean… The driveway is where my husband asked me to marry him in front of the whole neighborhood. It was the spot of Ben and my first kiss. It was where I was raised by my wonderful parents and got to enjoy many years with the best brother in the world!!! I have many joys of the house too… It is hard to let go… But it will always be apart of all of us…

    thanks for sharing your memories.. Although it made me ball at work!! HAHA

  2. Mommo permalink
    October 15, 2008 3:14 pm

    Okay, I should have “listened” to Katie’s e-mail/reply and NOT read this at work. The tears are flowing and I had to explain myself to my co-workers.

    Thank you, Amanda. You are precious – along with Ainsley, Scott, Katie, Ben, Struno, Wrigley, Henry, …..

    Love you all! I have so many memories at 2948-109th Avenue – it will be bittersweet leaving, but yes, our “home” will travel with us. 🙂

  3. Gramma GG permalink
    October 17, 2008 8:27 am

    Oh Ginn Family…I think I may know how you are feeling…moving out of the house with so many memories…oh oh oh.

    With our several house moves in eight years, I wondered how “grounded” our kids would be without that “Donna Reed Show’ house mindset.”

    It was a young Grace who wisely said to me, “Home is where our family is…Home is not a house.”

    Just think of all the NEW MEMORIES you’ll be making in your Ham Lake home! That name alone makes me think of GOOD THOUGHTS…mmmmm….HAM…..

    With hugs.

    Freitag….The Kings of Moving….

Trackbacks

  1. Visiting the Grand Ginn’s « The Ginn’s
  2. Laundry Girl « The Ginn’s

Leave a Reply

