Skip to content

36 weeks

July 23, 2008

Here we are at the start of week 36. I was feeling especially sassy yesterday in my pretty maternity top with the pink ribbon.

    

 

Scott was also feeling sassy.

 

We had birth class again last night (#3 of 5). We covered more labor stuff (stages 2 and 3), medications (To epidural or not epidural? That is the question.), and more breathing stuff (stomach, chest, and throat). I have to be honest — I struggle with the throat breathing (hee-hee-hee-ho); it’s like trying to rub my tummy and pat my head at the same time. Scott is so sweet and never laughs at me, no matter how much I struggle. He just keeps trying to help me get better at it… and encourages me that I’ll learn it.

 

Aside from all the “usual” exciting things happening (baby shower, nursery set up, baby clothes folding and re-folding, diaper shopping, birth classes, and so on), we are both SUPER excited about baby’s arrival. Scott especially has been getting anxious (the good kind of anxious) for Gizmo’s birth. As we wind down our last few “childless” weekends, we are so thankful for God’s perfect timing. How wonderful to know that we can sit back, relax (or try to relax), and trust in His goodness, faithfulness, and sovereignty. Whenever Gizmo arrives, it will be the right time. God makes no mistakes. He is never surprised.

 

*By the way, keep those baby names coming… We love to hear from all of you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly permalink
    July 23, 2008 2:46 pm

    Let me start by saying that you look great pregnant! I love all of your cute maternity clothes.

    As for the birthing classes, don’t worry too much about your breathing techniques. You will forget it all and do whatever works as soon as you are in labor :). The epidural, however, is well worth it! I was totally amazed at how wonderfully well that worked for me with both of my deliveries.

    I’m glad to hear that you are both so excited for the big day. It will be here before you know it!!

    As for my name guesses. Here they are.

    Boy – Nathan or Caleb
    Girl – Mikayla or Lydia

    I’m really not good at guessing baby names. I had enough trouble picking names for my own kids. I can’t tell you how many times I looked at that name book :).

    I’ll be anxiously awaiting your name choice, but even more so the gender of little gizmo.

    Molly

  2. Mamamama permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:43 pm

    You are too too stinkin’ cute Rosie!

    Scott too!

    Take the epi hunny….take the epi…..

    I’m not even kidding.

    That breathing stuff is great for other things:

    —overcoming stressful moments while parenting
    —keeping up with your children such when they make a
    mad dash for the road with no apparent warning
    —and blowing out birthday candles

    See you SOON!!!!

    amammam

  3. GREAT AUNT GINNIE permalink
    July 24, 2008 11:08 am

    OH YES…I THINK THE PINK RIBBON ON YOUR MATERNITY SHIRT REALLY TIES IT ALL TOGETHER (NO PUNN INTENDED)!!!!

    I AM WITH YOUR MOM….AND FROM MY OWN TWO EXPERIENCES….GET THE EPI……WHAT A DIFFERENCE IT MAKES….I AM A FIRM BELIEVER…..AND SO IS YOUR UNCLE MIKE!!! AND AGAIN…THE I AM WITH YOUR MOM ON THE BREATHING THINGEE TOO…..I FIND THAT HAS ONLY COME IN HANDY WHILE RAISING THE GIRLS!!!

    I AM STILL THINKING IF NAMES FOR YOU. I HAVE TO ASSUME IT IS A UNIQUE ONE….SINCE YOU SAID WE WILL NEED LUCK IN GUESSING IT.

    OUR NAME CHOICES FOR BOYS WERE:
    MASON MICHAEL
    QUINN MICHAEL

    MIKE LIKED THESE GIRL NAMES ALSO:
    VIENNA
    FRANCHESCA (YIKES!!!)
    BIANCA

    HE THOUGHT THAT WOULD BE COOL IF WE HAD TRIPLET GIRLS!!! THEN I THINK THOSE BREATHING TECHNIQUES WOULD HAVE BEEN HANDY!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

