Skip to content

My First Mother’s Day

May 14, 2008

On Saturday, Dana (my mother-in-law) and I went garage sale-ing in a neighborhood with 200+ garage sales. We found some great stuff, and we just had a good time talking and walking. And walking. And walking.

 

First, we found a Graco swinging chair in great condition and for significantly less than what a new one would cost. Then we discovered a beautiful hardwood rocking horse, just like the one Grace and I used to have. It is in perfect condition, and the yarn mane and leather ears stole our hearts. Dana mustered up some super-human Grandma courage and asked the seller to come down on the price. I can’t wait to hear what the darling horse’s name is once we have a talking Gizmo.

 

Finally, we stumbled upon a sale at the end of the map where we discovered a lovely oak table and chair set. It had been marked for $75, but the seller had just come down to $60. I have been wanting a smaller, round kitchen table for our kitchen area, and I was so happy to snag this one for so little. Scott and I just love it!

 

That night, after “Mother’s Day Eve” dinner with the Ginn’s, I walked in the door with Scott to find a beautiful bouquet of roses and two cards — one addressed to “Mommy” and the other to “Amanda”. My thoughtful and wonderful husband, even with his terrible cold, went out that morning to get me flowers, put them in a vase himself, and bought a card from him and a card from Gizmo.

 

 

 

 

So what does this mommy-to-be look like on her first Mother’s Day? Here’s me at 26 weeks (Tuesday, May 13, 2008). That shirt doesn’t accentuate the bump as much as others… hmm. I’ll really try to razzle dazzle you with another shot next week! By the way, I look exhausted and pale because 1) I am, and 2) I developed a skin irriation and am going au natural for the week.

 

It was a wonderful first Mother’s Day!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. becky permalink
    May 14, 2008 11:26 pm

    aw, hooray! i’m happy to hear it was so! you look stunning, my friend and scott…you’re a stud. love you both.

  2. becky permalink
    May 14, 2008 11:26 pm

    and what the heck is that weird symbol thing next to my comment?!

  3. AUNT GINNIE permalink
    May 15, 2008 8:51 am

    HEY AMANDA YOU LOOK BEAUTIFUL!!!! SOUNDS LIKE GARAGE SALE-ING WAS A HIT. GLAD TO HEAR YOU HAD A GOOD MOTHER’S DAY. SCOTT IS A VERY THOUGHTFUL DAD TO BE.

  4. May 16, 2008 4:05 pm

    Oh HUNNIES!!!!!….

    Your weekend sounds soooooo dear! Gramma Dana and you out together and finding FUN STUFF for Gizmo and your sweet home! Ohhhhhh!!! Ohhhhhhhhhhhh!!!

    Scott is a hopeless romantic and is on his way to being the BEST DAD EVER!!!! Big HUG to YOU Scott…Mom-in-Law approved!

    Amanda you look ADORABLE….itchy face and all!

    OHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

    Love and hugs from Grampa and Gramma!

Leave a Reply

