Skip to content

“Joe? Just call me Joe?”

March 26, 2008

I am sending out invitations to an event, and there is a Kathleen Kelley.

So now I am sitting here thinking about all the things I love about “You’ve Got Mail”.  I am opening up the floor for discussion about “You’ve Got Mail”. And by discussion I mean — let’s share lines.

Today, I need to be reminded to “Go to the mattresses.” And “Leave the gun; take the canoli.”

What kind of day aphoto1.jpgre you having?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2008 11:40 pm

    “F-O-X.”

    “She ran away with the Nanny? How ironic!”

    “Don’t you think daisies are the friendliest flowers?”

    amamma

  2. JessicainFlorida permalink
    March 27, 2008 12:28 am

    “For me the Internet is just yet another way of being rejected by women.” (or in my case, men)

    “If I hadn’t been FoxBooks and you hadn’t been the Shop Around the Corner… and you and I had, just you know, met… Yeah. I would have asked for your phone number and I wouldn’t have been able to wait 24 hours before calling and asking, ‘How about coffee, drinks, dinner, a movie, for as long as we both shall live?'”

    “I turn on my computer. I wait impatiently as it connects. I go online, and my breath catches in my chest until I hear three little words: You’ve got mail. I hear nothing. Not even a sound on the streets of New York, just the beating of my own heart. I have mail. From you.”

  3. JessicainFlorida permalink
    March 27, 2008 12:30 am

    “What is that? What is that? What are you doing? You’re taking all the caviar? That caviar is a *garnish*!”

    “Mr. 152 insights into my soul. “

  4. JessicainFlorida permalink
    March 27, 2008 12:42 am

    Okay, I just like all those quotes. If I had to choose one to explain the day I’m having, I’d go with this one:

    “You’re daring to march into the unknown armed with…nothing. Have a sandwich. “

  5. amandaginn permalink*
    March 27, 2008 1:20 am

    “Oh. Let me guess. From the Internet?”
    “Yes.”
    “You’ve… got mail.”
    “Yes!”
    “Three very powerful words.”
    “Yes.”

  6. JessicainFlorida permalink
    March 27, 2008 1:24 am

    I just love how she whispers “Yes” at the end.

  7. amandaginn permalink*
    March 27, 2008 2:28 am

    “Patricia makes coffee nervous.”

  8. JessicainFlorida permalink
    March 27, 2008 2:54 am

    “I think you have a gift for it. It was a perfect blend of poetry and meaness.”

  9. March 27, 2008 3:45 am

    “Where’s my tic-tac!”

    mamamamam

  10. amandaginn permalink*
    March 27, 2008 8:30 pm

    Haha! I love GG’s lastest addition. It came at the right time for me this morning.

    “Good thing it wasn’t the fish!”

  11. March 28, 2008 2:25 am

    I love the “freshly sharpened bouquet of pencils” phrasing.

    It makes me feeling like “twirling.”

    mmmamama

  12. March 28, 2008 8:40 am

    “go to the mattresses” still have no idea what it means but it sounds…manly

    eh,
    bennett

  13. amandaginn permalink*
    March 28, 2008 8:29 pm

    Welcome, Boomy!! Thanks for contributing.

    Or rather, “Thank yer.”

  14. Annie permalink
    April 11, 2008 6:53 pm

    “I am a lone reed, standing tall, waving boldly, in the corrupt sands of commerce.”
    Ahhhh how did you know that was my favorite movie ever???

  15. August 22, 2008 1:38 pm

    I absolutely love this movie!! Hi Amanda btw…congratulations on your baby…do you remember me…I used to work in the business office and I think we met at antioch too…in any case…

    When Kathleen, Christina, and George are standing in front of the construction site of Fox Books…Christina says “kel nightmare.” In that perfectly drawling voice of hers…

    Joe: He could be the Zipper Man.
    Kathleen: Who?
    Joe: This guy on Amsterdam who repairs zippers. You’ll never have to buy new luggage.

    George: I’m going to get some eucalyptus candles cuz it makes my apartment smell Moss-a.

    Birdie: If you ever need any money, just ask me…I bought Intel at $6! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. A little encouragement « The Ginn’s

Leave a Reply

