Skip to content

“On the brink.”

March 13, 2008

These are words I shared with Jessica when I realized I wanted to have a blog. She gets me.

 To begin, let me state that my entry into the world of blogging comes with some self-imposed rules:

  1. I will not treat this as my journal. To borrow a phrase from Judy Hougen, I will not “emotionally undress” via my blog.
  2. I will try not to embarrass my husband. He’s a good guy. I like him. A lot.
  3. I will emulate those I respect most among bloggers.I read only a few blogs, irregularly. But I like the ones I read. And I want to be a good blogger. Otherwise, what’s the point?

 Other rules may come to me as I figure this out.

The truth is — Deep down, I want to write. Good writing reminds me of that fact. Unfortunately, I have not really written since my senior capstone in spring 2006. I see this blog as a vehicle for writing, a place to practice and remember why I wanted to be a writer in the first place.

I invite you to read. Or don’t read. I’ll keep writing either way.

-Amanda

5 Comments leave one →
  1. JessicainFlorida permalink
    March 13, 2008 8:25 pm

    Shout out in the first post. Yesssss!

    Love the rules. Love the look. Mostly love the author.

    Congratulations on your new home in cyberspace.

  2. March 13, 2008 8:29 pm

    Well…I like you BOTH ALOT!

    You have the HEART of a writer. Therefore you MUST write.
    Let’s not forget “The Hanky Panky Bubble Nose” by Amanda Rose; your first great work.

    Mamamammamama

  3. Mommo permalink
    March 13, 2008 9:05 pm

    What a great idea! You are a great writer, and I love that you can share all the things that are important to you – NWC, UGM, Children’s Shelter of Cebu. Amazing! Now, be sure to write about Gizmo and all the wonderful grandparents this child will have. :>)

  4. March 13, 2008 9:11 pm

    hooray!!! i’m all emotional…this is a BIG deal…gosh, i can’t stop cryin–

    just kidding.

    k, but i am oh so glad to see you in blogland. welcome. i like it when you write.

  5. Pops permalink
    March 13, 2008 10:52 pm

    It’s an honor to be the first male to reply. I’m already a BIG fan!You can do no wrong in my eyes. I’ll be your #1 male subscriber–that is unless the other important males in your life blitz my offensive attack. BLOG AWAY!

Leave a Reply

